You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six Degrees and Hopeless Habits - The Ink Well Fiction Writing Challenge #2 - Bad Habits

in The Ink Well4 years ago

"There's a lot to unpack here," as they say! I can really relate to it. I grew up in a very religious home and it is so interesting to me what has stuck with me over the many years of being borderline agnostic. I definitely pray. And it doesn't seem at all odd to me most of the time, though I'm not practicing a religion or going to church. I believe in the power of prayer, and it definitely comes in handy when you feel alone and need to submit your hopes up the chain to something higher than yourself. If there was ever a time in history when we should allow one another to feel and believe what we feel and believe, it is now. I don't know that there will be a judgment day, and I don't pray or believe in kindness for that reason anyway. I believe in kindness because it is the right thing. I think we will get through this. Humanity will certainly survive and maybe even be a little better for having suffered together through something that knows no borders and has no concern for race, religion or any other defining factors, with the exception of frailty. I'm glad to know your parents are doing okay!

Sort:  

Indeed - I believe in kindness because it is the right thing. Not because there may be a reward in heaven for it or a punishment in hell for selfishness and cruelty. Just, it's the way we ought to be - kind and compassionate. Thank you for reading and commenting! If only more people thought like you do: "If there was ever a time in history when we should allow one another to feel and believe what we feel and believe, it is now. "

Thank you, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71