Shadow of Myself

car-communication-3100980_1280.jpg


Tell me what you used to see
When you looked me in the eye
Before I became the person I am now
Regale me with tales of my misfortune
Stories about how lost I was
When you first found me

Today, I stared at myself in the mirror
I tried so hard to recognise
The person I once was
I strained to see my scared skin
It's all I know, you see
Bits and pieces of my fractured self

In their place stood a mystery
A glowing orb so large and bright
There was no room for shadows
I couldn't find the demons lurking behind
Maybe there was none in the first place
I never noticed as I was used to it

Tell me what you see now
Underneath the sunny layer
I still fear the pain
I dream of it
But I intend to bask in the light
And hold on with everything I've got
Hoping that this time, it lasts


I haven't written a word of poetry in a very long time. The ones I've been sharing were old pieces. This is me trying to put my thoughts into words – the ones I can get a hold of – and hoping that it makes sense. I have this good thing going for me and I'm so scared of it that sometimes I condition myself into believing it's wrong, then I panic because I can't bear to let it go. My mind is a mess, I know. I have no idea how long it'd take for me to recover completely but I'm on that journey.

image source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72