Freewrite - Home

This piece is a five minute freewrite. It isn't for any contest. I'm just trying my hand on one because I haven't really tried them before.

The prompt for this one is Home.

I went blank for a moment when I saw the word, then everything came rushing in at the same time. I tried to get out as much as possible before I exhausted my time. Enjoy.


coffee-1974841_1280.jpg


When I think of home, two things come to mind. The first is peace. You know when they say that home is where the heart is. To me, it isn't a house, a place or even a person. It's what gives me peace of mind. I'm sure I'm making this quite complicated. Home to me, has always been where you are naked and unashamed. You can actually find it in a person on a place but it always goes beyond that. It comes from somewhere deeper. Where you find comfort and answers. Okay, let me not confuse you the more.

The second thing that comes to mind is trees, nakedness, food and my grandmother. This one is a bit funny. I grew up running around naked and playing with my cousins and their friends. I would visit my grandma every Sunday and she always kept a portion of her food for me. I loved her like silly.

The tree part is my brother. I grew up in a farm. Of course I hated it because of all the work that comes with it but looking back now, it was so beautiful and so peaceful. My brother would take me to climb orange and cashew trees. I was never as good as my sister when it came to climbing but I learned quite fast. The running around naked part was done under the rain. My Mama whooped my arse constantly because of it but I still did it anyway.

End of five minutes


This brought back memories I might revisit, and hopefully write something from.

Tell me what your thoughts are.

image source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72