You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lois: A Story Written for the Ink Well Fiction Writing Challenge #2 - Bad Habits

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Thank you,@owasco.
Funny, when I write a story I grow with the character. At least that's true for the stories that work. Lois is sad, very sad. She doesn't mean to hurt, but does, especially herself. She began in my head as almost a caricature--uncaring, self-centered, vain. But that was impossible. That just didn't work, realistically. Then I looked underneath and saw all the defense mechanisms, all the rationalizations, that ruined her life and hurt others.
I'm glad you saw the complete person. Imperfect, unhappy, alone. Yes, a snob on the outside, but, as is true with most of us, very complicated.
You're a good reader and an intuitive person. I just read your cat post. Heading over there for a comment. Love that cat, love that dog, love Patches.
Regards,
AG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69