SADcasm || An Original Poetry

in The Ink Well4 years ago

images (19).jpeg

Image source

Do not dismay,
suffer no heartbreak
when flowers bloom
and in the month of May
withers,
when I draw closer
to death like a sheep
to the slaughter,
tomorrow may come
and oxygen becomes luxury
I can no longer afford,
no fears! I will pen
down a dirge,
to keep me company
as my end nears.

Sad but happy,
I represent Irony,
though in human form,
I represent the living,
though a weak one,
if dying is palatable,
then pain is remarkable,
but watch closely the tears,
like flows
in the bloodstream,
endlessly storming
these great still eyes.

Vanities!
Witnessed life’s twist
and tragedies,
nightmares lurks in
my subconscious
as I slip gradually into
total oblivion,
locked away in a
dreamlike prison,
where poison is the new
cool thing,
so I won’t close both eyes until
I was sure they won’t open
till eternity,
I won’t escape in smoke
until I’ve dotted my I’s and T’s,
maybe smile will at this
point elude me
as I stare at that golden coffin,
that will ferry me
into the afterlife.

And when I die,
push forward the aches,
let it scatter,
watch me wander
across the endless ocean,
like birds aiming free
in the wind,
times will change
and days will fade,
but I will be no more,
only the memories we shared
will live on.

Written and edited
By @aduragbemi
Erinkitola Aduragbemi
1st April, 2020.

Happy New Month Steemians!!!

Sort:  

Wow! This is great!

no fears! I will pen
down a dirge,
to keep me company
as my end nears.

Seems as good an occupation as any, and is what I've been doing too. We are all examining mortality these days.

Love this language:

locked away in a
dreamlike prison,
where poison is the new
cool thing,

There's a lot to think about in this piece. Excellent work!

Thanks @owasco for taking time to read through. I'm grateful for the comment too! And yeah, we seem to be exploring mortality a lot this days.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65