SEC-S10W4: ''A terrible day of my life''

in Steem For Bangladesh11 months ago (edited)
20230702_080428.png Edited using Pixellab App

Hello Steemians

Greetings to you all in this community and the platform in general. The Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 10 week 4 is here, and this is my entry for the theme of this week's contest titled "A terrible day in my life" from this community. Without further ado, let's get to the business of the day.


What was the terrible day of your life? What happened to you that day?

Life is a mysterious combination of joy and sadness. Today we are delighted, hereafter we may be sad. But in all, some events are so sad that they leave an imprint for the rest of our life.

Bad days come into everybody’s life as life goes on, it might be as bad as the next person's day but it surely leaves its impact days after it has occurred. Like any other person, I too have faced bad days in my life. I can say I have faced many difficult days but certain ones terrified me then, and here is one of such days.

Only if I'd learned it was going to be such a terrible day, I would have remained in bed all day. It was a Wednesday in the year 2017, the date and month I can't recall anymore.

20230702_082156.png Edited using Pixellab App

It was during my University days, I never had a lecture that day, but I insisted on going to school with some of my friends, a young mind looking seamlessly happy to be among friends. Since it was a lecture-free day, myself and a friend had to stop by the library while the rest went to their lectures

After about 3-4 hours intervals of studies, I walked up to my friend and told him I was headed home, so he stood up to accompany me as he was done with studying too.

On our way home, our happiness turned into a horror moment, as we were robbed at gunpoint in the middle of the road, but everyone around just stood watching like nothing was going on. The robbers not only took all that was in our pockets and bags but also commanded us to transfer what was left of in our bank accounts and we were left with nothing.

This act not only traumatized me as it was at gunpoint, but it also starved me days after as they took everything we had. What even made it worse was the fact no one tried to help us nor even believe that we were been robbed by them, they taught the robbers were our friends.


Have similar terrible events happened repeatedly in your life? How do you keep yourself away from it if it happens? And do you still shudder when you remember that terrible day?

I won't say No categorically, neither is it yes. I have been stopped by misfits on several occasions in the act of trying to get something from me, few succeeded and most got nothing.

It's more like a norm here where you will be in your lane headed to your destination peacefully, and all of a sudden a misfit shows up asking you to give him something from your pocket.

I have tried my best for this incident not to happen, but as long as you are walking or using public transport it's bound to happen to you then. But, then I found out that walking in a group of 5-6 persons will make them lose interest, and with the new government policy on hoodlums and criminal elements in the state, I think this has been reduced to minimal as we can now go our ways in peace.

Any time I am walking and a group of people are approaching my direction I recall that very terrible day, the exact reason I still haven't forgotten after all these years (6 years to be precise).


What lessons have you learned from that terrible event in your life and what do you want to tell others about it?

Lessons learned will be that everyone is the Chief Security Officer (CSO) of himself. It's your priority to keep yourself safe and in good company.

I expected the people around me to do something in our rescue but none did anything probably afraid of being the victim.

20230702_083147.png Edited using Pixellab App

Those in many Nigerian campuses can attest to the fact that it's safer to walk in good groups of 5-6 people, or at least 4. So if you are in school premises and you want to avoid such situations walk in a group of good friends, but also have at the back of your mind you are your very own CSO.

20211014_043602.png

I like to invite @Ruthjoe, @yakspeace, @ikwal and @suboohi



NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20230620_142532.png

Sort:  
 11 months ago 

Hari yang anda alami benar-benar sangat mengerikan saudara, di todong dengan senjata di tengah jalan membuat saya ketakutan saat membacanya apalagi mengalaminya, semoga hari buruk itu tidak pernah kembali lagi.

 11 months ago 

So far, I have never experienced that again. Neither did I till I graduated but I still feel the trauma when I see the group of persons I don't know walking towards me.

Ps: Thank you for always supporting me.😍🥰

 11 months ago 

Sama-sama saudara, semoga kita terus sukses

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70588.78
ETH 3814.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51