SEC-S17W4: Express Your Love For National Flag

in Steem For Bangladesh4 months ago

Greetings to my friends and members of this community, I am @nsijoro from Nigeria whose flag has the colour green and white vertically striped, I am privileged to participate today though I experienced a very hectic week, I would love if you read through

HISTORY BEHIND OUR NATIONAL FLAG

Click to Watch

Nigeria has so many histories one of which I will be recapping, that to us who already know, is the history behind our national flag, just like Steemit holds contests, so the movement to the selection of the national flag was a contest, a contest was organized and over 2000 entries were submitted, that massive but just one was chosen. Back then and even now though not completely, students were allowed to showcase their talent in my country, the student Micheal Taiwo Akinkumi, 23 years among the many was given the same opportunity, and his entry was selected and the flag was officially used on the 1st of October 1960, that was when we gain independence from British colonial rule.

1714915575084.jpg

There is one history most Nigerians may not be familiar with and for that reason, I would call on @hahdie @usoro01 @bossj23, @ngoenyi, @goodybest, and @sahmie to have a glimpse of this part of our history so they can share with their students, pupils, siblings and friends. Just like contest moderators do audition after the contests on Steemit, there was an audition of Micheal's proposed design for the Nigerian flag and the red chevron was removed, it was like a radiating sun at the centre of the vertical white stripe which signifies our struggle and fight to gain independence.

SIGNIFICANCE OF THE FLAG
background-7842730_1280.jpgVegetation
world-6247356_1280.jpgUnity

Today we stand by the audited flag, a green vertical stripe with white as the centre stripe has two greens on both ends. So the colours have a significance and the greens stand for the vast vegetation as a country sited the tropical rainforest, we are blessed with a fertile soil that yields bountiful fruits, the white stripes represent unity amidst the diversity in tribes, culture, language and many more. Nigeria has over 774 local government areas, some in the same state with different languages.

THE PLACE OF THE NIGERIAN FLAG INTERNATIONALLY

IMG_20240428_120759_124.jpg

Our country's flag represents our nation intercontinental and internationally. As the giant of Africa, it is very necessary to place our country's flag in an organization. Intercontinental, our flag holds so much significance since our president is the leader of E.C.O.W.A.S. If our flag is down in government offices it represents a state of national mourning, I know this is a standard for most countries at the national level and Nigeria does the same.

A CLIP TO REPRESENT MY COUNTRY'S FLAG
IMG_20240428_131535_360.jpgMe and an officer to prove clip ownership

When it comes to the military, a mess with the flag can attract severe punishment. The video I uploaded was in church when the Royal Rangers had to display their love for the country flag. The Royal Ranger is a sub-military section adopted in most churches for regulating order and uniformity. The parade is awesome as the move to Mount the national flag.

Thanks for reading through

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 4 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

I feel out of this world anytime I read your entry. Thanks for this video. It has help a lot though. I now know more than I had known before. Thanks for including the clip. Normally, I wouldn't have searched for it but you made me to.

 4 months ago 

My brother, I am so happy you stopped by, I am glad to find time to read through this entry, I really appreciate it, Goodluck

Greetings my friend @bossj23! Your enthusiasm is infectious! 🎉 Thanks to nsijoro's entry, we've all learned something new about Nigeria's flag. Keep exploring, and enjoy the journey! 🚀 All the best in the contest, success for you👍

I appreciate brother...... Thanks for the compliment

 4 months ago 

I am happy you stopped by my friends @artist1111, I never knew you had a higher place now, I really missed your contest, "food captured with yummy thoughts" and "my town in 5 pics". You are truly my good friends and you have shown that by stopping by. I wish you success too.

Loading...

Wow, your post is just amazing and well detailed. Nigerian flag has remained one of the simple but inspiring flag in the world. The vegetation (green colour) and Unity (white color) is what makes us Nigeria. I am proudly representing our national flag. I am a Nigerian. Good luck on your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56477.82
ETH 2390.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33