S10W5: My story of losing a precious thing

in Steem For Bangladeshlast year (edited)

Picsart_23-07-05_20-23-35-797_1.jpg

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Loosing precious things has become part of life ever since our first parents lost their cherished relationship with their creator. They equally lost their precious home- the Garden of Eden. Their disobedience resulted in lose of lives and perfection. It has been terrible since then. And I have also been loosing precious things.

Whenever I remember the precious things I had lost, I don't really feel good but what can I do about them? Nothing. They have in fact become part of life as it were. I have lost so many precious items but would like to recount the story as the engagement requires.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Have you ever lost something that was very important to you?(If you have a picture of the item please share it with us).

I have lost some precious items in my lifetime. But one that I will like to share now took place some years back in 2015.

On that day, I went out and because it was raining, I didn't go out with my kids but to tell them to lock the door from behind. I also told them not to allow anyone enter the house, in fact, they were not to even respond to a call from outside if not our voice. Of course, I and my husband won't call them but to make use of the key. But as soon as I left, I got a call from an electrician who was fixing our vehicle that has electrical fault. My husband had borrowed his battery to start our vehicle but was to return it that morning. We forgot to do so and left and he needed that battery. I could go back home where I was then. My husband on the other hand had gone to work in another city. the man called my number, when I picked, I felt so bad but told him to put the phone on speak out so that my kids could hear my voice and open the door to give him the car key. Thank goodness! They they opened and gave him the key but forgot to lock the door behind again.

When I came back, I needed to do some online stuff with my mini laptop. I searched for it but didn't find it. I thought maybe my husband had gone to work with it. I put a call across to him but he wasn't with it. I went to the kitchen to prepare dishes, hoping to find the laptop later because I thought perhaps, I had kept it at another place in the house. It was when I went there that I noticed that the door wasn't locked. I called on them and they remembered that they didn't lock it. My mind went straight to that laptop again.

Picsart_23-07-05_20-28-51-733_1.jpg

Yes, someone sneaked in without the kids knowledge and took the laptop along with our Samsung Galaxy tablet in the seating room while the kids were in their room playing.

Picsart_23-07-05_20-34-14-153_1.jpg

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

What emotions did you experience upon losing the item?

I didn't know what to do. Of course, I won't blame them because I failed the rule due to circumstances. They weren't supposed to open the door but I made them open it. Though was mad at them but they couldn't help it. They felt bad also because that tablet was theirs. They had plugged it to charge. They had games in it and not it's gone.

Those two items were very precious to me then since they were used to execute some jobs I had then. I felt so sad and disappointed.

I had taken measures to ensure such things don't happen, but otherwise was the case. It really brought so much pressure on me since I had to go to a computer centre to carry out some job task.

It was really a bad experience for me.

Picsart_23-07-05_20-40-08-347_1.jpg

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Did you do anything to find it?What was the result?

I had to let my neighbours know of the robbery and inquired if within the day they noticed any unfamiliar faces wandering around the house. Some did confirm that they saw someone with a black polyurethane bag but they never knew he was a thieve and they the bag contained the stolen items as she was leaving the premises.

In fact, The thief, was regarded as a mad woman, thus no attention was given to her as she wandered around the compound making it easy for her to carry out the wicked act.

Additional investigation was made and her whereabout was identified, but her location was the den of robbers which made it more difficult to recover the stolen items. Additionally, we found out that even before she got to that place, the devices have already been sold by her for a paltry sum of money just to smoke Indian hemp.

When she was apprehended, she started behaving like a mad woman, thus they released her and left her alone. Well we just have to bear the loss.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

What steps do you follow to avoid losing such precious items in the future?

I thoroughly went thru the whole security details leading to the loss of the phone and laptop, thus coming up with some additional security measures to be put in place.

  • I stopped calling for my kids to open the door for any one no matter the situation.

  • Ensure that the external doors and windows of my apartments are always locked, whether some one is in the house or not.

  • Try to be familiar with faces within the compound, making it easier to identify foreign faces.

  • Ensure that the gate to the compound is always locked and that any co-tenant must have his own key in order to lock it whenever leaving the compound.

  • I should raise alarm so that other tenants can immediately be aware of danger in the compound.

  • Keep the mobile devices and other precious items in a hidden and safe place, not easily seen by an intruder.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Conclusion

Losing something precious is always painful. Till date, I still feel bad whenever I remember those two electronic gadgets. I also learnt a lesson from what happened to me. Security is paramount, thus I should do whatever I can to protect the things I cherish and love.

Thank you all for reading through my entry. Now that you have known what precious things I lost in the past, tell me yours @drhira @karianaporras and @patjewell. Please follow the contest rules in case you have missed it. I will be waiting to sympathize with you all.

All images gotten from PicsArt app and designed by me using PicsArt app

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year (edited)
 last year (edited)

Is a pity, If the force(police) system is perfectly working those items would have been recovered. In other hands thankGod for the safety of the children despite the lost.

 last year 

My dear, I really thank God that my kids were safe. I appreciate your kind comment and encouragement

TEAM 4

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. Good post here should be..

Congratulations!.png

Curated by : @graceleon

 last year 

Thank you @graceleon for the support. It means a lot

 last year 

¡Saludos amiga!🤗

Cuando perdemos nuestros dispositivos tecnológicos solemos sentirnos muy impotentes porque, a través de ellos realizamos muchísimas cosas de nuestra cotidianidad y, aunque parezca extraño, es más que un dispositivo.

Siento mucho esta pérdida amiga. Un par de veces lo he experimentado y, no es nada agradable.

Un fuerte abrazo💚

 last year 

You are very correct dear, we feel powerless especially when most of the things we do daily are with the device. I appreciate your kind comment

 last year 

Oh no!!!
There is nothing in life that makes me more cross than people stealing.
I just cannot understand how people can do it.
It also happened to me when my laptop was stolen.
These days we are living behind high walls, electric fencing, burglar bars, and alarm systems, and often not even that is good enough.
Good luck with the contest, and thanks for the invite.

 last year 

Those hoodlums are just impossible! But they are headed for their doom. Thank you for your kind comment and good wish. I appreciate

Loading...
 last year 

Am sorry you lost your laptop ma, my phone was also stolen and I was a madman through out that period.
I wish you good luck in this contest.

So sorry for your loss Ma, and I believe that most times mistake are made for one to take a lesson and correction to avoid future reoccurrence. And most importantly, thank GOD the kids are safe and it was a mere thief and not kidnappers.

I pray neither you nor your household will never experience such again or any type of mishap🙏🏾

Congratulations for safety of the kids

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30