SEC-S6W2: I Am a Teacher | I mould young minds.

in Steem For Bangladesh2 years ago
photo-1513542789411-b6a5d4f31634-02.jpeg

I am happy to be back again this week to participate in this interesting and engaging contest organized by this awesome community. We are in the second week of this beautiful season. It's really funny how time flies, just like yesterday we commenced the season and today we are two weeks into it.

I found the contest here Interesting so I decided to make an entry, the topic is what I can really relate with. I hope you find my entry Interesting and worth your time. Alright, let's go...



Whose teacher are you? Do you teach for a living?

I am a school teacher and I teach for a living, although I have other jobs I do to complement it. I have been teaching for the past 10 years, surprised right? Well that's just it. I started teaching shortly after I left secondary school.

IMG_20220607_073931.jpg
Image taken from my phone gallery

In this part of the world, teaching is a job that you come by easily, so I didn't struggle to get one after bagging my SSCE. Trust me, I never loved the profession, the love and passion I have for it today grew over time.

I suddenly discovered I have what it takes to teach and model young minds. It not an easy job though but it's worth it. Should I also mention that there are a lot of challenges you would encounter while doing this job.

What challenges have you faced as a teacher?

Will I be able to really mention all the challenge associated with this profession? Maybe no but then, I will try and mention few which I have personally experienced myself.

Teaching is not Lucrative.
Yea! You just read that... Many in this part of the world where I recide will attest to this, I think this also applies to some other part of the world as well. Teacher are not well paid and respected maybe it's the reason why it's easy to get, there's always a vacancy for any interested person who would be ready to take peanuts.

People do not see it as a profession they should hold on to, that's why there is always an opening, they do it temporarily and dump it for some other noble profession.

I also want to believe the reason why many would not want to take up the job even when they are over qualified for it is because they don't want to end up like most of the teachers that taught them. The poor pay most times tend to be written all over them.

Only few private and standard schools tend to break this barrier by ensuring their teachers are doing really fine just like folks in other profession and am grateful for these ones for redeeming the image of this noble profession.

IMG_20221128_133558.jpg
Image taken from phone gallery

In addition, teachers have to deal with all manner of student, giving their best to ensure they are being imparted with requisite knowledge, they are also at the receiving end when things go wrong.

I have seen parent come down to school to fight teachers on minor issues and also blame them for the failure of their wards/children.
Everyone has a role to play, if only they know. Trust me there is so much to share but then I have to limit it to what I have shared.

How do you create a learning environment that is both stimulating and supportive?

There are ways this is done. The learning environment matter a lot. There are things that needs to be on ground to make learning effective. These includes a serene environment void of all kinds of environmental distraction, for example your school or learning center should not be located close to a factory that uses heavy duty machines with unbearable noise.

The school or learning center should also be equipped with facilities like library, laboratory, playground/field for sport. All these will aid learning. I hope you're not suprised I added a field/ playground to the list. Well you must have heard this saying "all work and no play makes jack a dull boy". This is very true. There should be time for leisure to relax the brain.

What professional development opportunities have you pursued to improve your teaching practice?

If you followed me from the beginning, you would discover that I became a teacher because I needed something to do not because I really wanted to go into it. I only fell in love and became passionate over time. I have bagged certificate in other fields but not in the line of teaching.

Everything I know and do today as a teacher is based on experience and exposure which is by the virtue of time/period spent doing the work. There is something called learning on the job, We have people who became very good by learning on the job. I fall into this category.

I know it will be very relevant to bag a professional cerificate in this field because I might want to focus on this someday, although I don't see myself doing this as a full timer . I also know I will own a school someday and I need all of these professional certificates for validation.


At present, higher education is very expensive. What is your opinion on this, or is there any alternative to it?


I wouldn't want to suggest an alternative to an higher education. The reason why it's called "higher education" is because there is something superior to be taught and learnt. It shouldn't be bypassed or overlooked.

So many factors have contributed to (it cost) this over time but that's not my emphasis today, what I would say is that it should still be pursued in spite of the cost. Someone once said and I quote... "If education is expensive, try ignorance".

photo-1546410531-bb4caa6b424d.jpeg
Unsplash

I know you don't want to try ignorance, the cost is overwhelmingly high and expensive. Go for higher learning and do not allow the price discourage you. However if there's is a need to write petition to the government for the fees and every other related expenses to be brought down, then I will encourage it, so that the masses can benefit.


Conclusions


Teaching is a noble profession but it quite unfortunate that it's not seen in that light, I wish our government will do all in their capacity to ensure that this profession becomes and enviable one which can also level up with other profession out there.

Thanks for coming this far with me, your time is much appreciated.
I will love to invite @ruthjoe @josepha @enamul @negro-bby @richy20 @chukwu10


Written by:-
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I like how determine you're in moulding young minds. Indeed such gesture is hard to find among young people like you. You're indeed doing a very nice job and best of luck is all what I wish you.

 2 years ago 

Good to hear that you have been working as a teacher for ten years. I think this is a great achievement. In 10 years many of you have taught many things which I think are really playing a very important role. My best wishes and regards to you. Keep working like this, I hope many good students can do good things through you. Best of luck to you in the contest.

CategoryRemarkScore
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Club status1/2
Quality Content2/2
Markdown Style1.5/2
Total8.5/10
CategoryRemark
Support #burnsteem25NO
Voting CSI13.2
Period (Club Status)29/08/22 to 29/11/22
Transfer to Vesting732.017 STEEM
Cash Out225.000 STEEM
 2 years ago 

Teaching for the past 10 years? Wow this is incredible..
I must commend you for this because it takes alot of patience to be a teacher.

Hmm teaching it's a noble profession but here in our country it is not valued.

 2 years ago 

Smiles....yea the profession is not really valued here, it quite unfortunate that people would not like to identify with this profession. I hope things get better in the nearest future.

 2 years ago 

I hope so too

Patience, that is the key to becoming a teacher, as we know now, there are students who are brave towards the teacher, there are those who are nagging, and there are also those who take the teacher lightly, the problem is why being a teacher is so difficult. I also share posts about teachers, if you have time please take a look and I am very happy.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much dear friend. Your comment is valuable. I will definitely chack out your post as well. Am sure it's loaded with a lot of value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56