SEC-S10W5: My story of losing a precious thing

in Steem For Bangladeshlast year

Good day steemians, Today I'll be participating in the steemit engagement challenge by the steem4bangladesh community on My story of losing a precious thing



image created with canva

Have you ever lost something that was very important to you? (If you have a picture of the item please share it with us)

I have lost a lot of things dear to me, however, stumbling upon this post. The first image that came to mind was that of the laptop charger of the first laptop I ever got. This was a long time ago and it was a sad experience for me then as I was partly entrusted with the laptop as it happened to be that of my father.

I took the laptop to school on this fateful day, kept it in my bag alongside the charger, and hurriedly ran to make the school assembly. After assembly, I checked my bag as I quickly wanted to get some games from my friend before the first lecture began and somehow, I couldn't find the charger.

I began to doubt if I actually brought the charger and began to trace my steps and actions. It was highly unlikely for me to come to school with the laptop and forget the charger, besides I remembered seeing the charger before leaving for the assembly. After a while, it dawned on me that it was missing, not just missing, but it had been stolen.


What emotions did you experience upon losing the item?

I was devastated and lost for words. I asked my classmates if they had any idea where my charger was but got negative responses all through. I remember being almost to the point of tears, frustrated and angry. I had no idea how to explain to my dad I had lost the charger to the new pc he gave me. I knew I would be tagged as irresponsible from that day on and I was scared to report to the school authorities because it was a Tuesday, and students are not supposed to bring their personal PCs to school on any day other than Mondays and Fridays, so that would have meant more trouble for me.

I couldn't focus on classes up till recess, that was when I saw some bit of help.


Did you do anything to find it? What was the result?
Yes, I did. I eventually found out that the seniors from the next class had taken my charger. One of them, whom I was close to disclosed it to me. I walked up to one of them and asked politely to which they kept giggling and denying. Eventually, they used their status as seniors to send me away.

I was so sad because it was already obvious they had taken it but were refusing to return it. Eventually, I was forced to report to the authorities and they succeeded in making them return the charger. However, it wasn't the same.

A part had been switched out but no one listened to me. The part was replaced with a fairly damaged one which didn't last two weeks before it was spoilt. Although I had kept my belongings well, I learned a valuable lesson that day.


What steps do you follow to avoid losing such precious items in the future?

Ever since then, I took extra precautions with my belongings in school and only brought my pc on the required dates. On dates I had to default, I made sure I left it with my older brother who was also a senior in another class to prevent such occurrence. I've also learned to not put so much faith in people with your properties. As people would usually do hurtful stuffs and not feel remorse irrespective of your mood or pain.


I hereby invite @willian @karianaporras and @gabrielagg to participate in this challenge



WHO IS DOPPLEY

Doppley studies accounting at the University of Lagos and take up a big hobby in writing. Having a good eye for details and description, he loves social blockchains.

His goal on steemit is to make numerous connections with people and put out valuable articles for the steem community to consume and interact with. Basically to be like water, which slips through fingers but is still capable of holding up a ship.

He juggles many interests, writer, saxophonist, accountant, data scientist, trader, real estate agent, and some others at once but his passion keeps him steady.

all gifs included are powered by tenor



image.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOUR SUPPORT, UPVOTES, ENGAGEMENTS AND REBLOGS WOULD BE VERY MUCH APPRECIATED


image.png

THANKS FOR READING THROUGH MY POST🤗

Sort:  
 last year 

Cuando son artículos importantes, para nosotros duele perder las cosas, además que era una pieza fundamental para tu Computador portátil y por eso se hace más necesario.

De todas las experiencias se aprende, Afortunadamente aprendiste la lección y ahora estas más atento de tus pertenencias.

Buena suerte

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags. Curated by: @yonaikerurso

 last year 

Estimado amigo es bastante frustrante cuando nos prestan algo y esto se nuestra vida o se nos daña sentimos no solo el lamento de que se haya dañado sino la culpa y la vergüenza de tener que afrontar la situación y decir que se nos perdió que se nos dañó. Gracias a Dios al menos el propietario era tu padre y un regaño de un padre no cae tan mal como que te regaña un tercero un extraño. Gracias por compartir con nosotros te deseo éxitos y bendiciones

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44