SEC-S6W2: "I Am a Teacher | Teaching at college of educaion Akwanga"

in Steem For Bangladesh2 years ago

img_1669639416543.jpg

Hello beloved, thank you for having it time to my blog, I appreciate your time and efforts. I welcome you all to the engagement challenge season6week2 and I am very glad to participate. Thanks to the steemit team and this very community for an educative and interesting topic; I am a teacher. I will be sharing my idea on the above topic so keep reading and I know you would find it interesting because I am a teacher.

A teacher is a person who impacts knowledge on others. Teachers are sets of people who need to be valued and respected, students and pupils go to school to learn from their teachers and their mates.Teachers are trusted beings because parents believe so much in them and that is why everyone allows his or her child to school. A teacher should be a model because as a teacher teaches, the students and pupils learn from a teacher and also looks up to their teachers in both character and learning.

Whose teacher? Do you teach for a living?

I am a teacher of about 150 students in a class, I am teaching at the college of education Akwanga, Nasarawa state, Nigeria. It's a college so, knowing their age range would be a difficult thing because I get to see people of the same age as my father. I teach for a living because I am a woman and as a single lady, I would need some money so that I must not stand on my parents soliciting for money anymore. Immediately my service, I applied to schools and fortunate for me, I was called in the college to start work and I was very happy. It has been my dream to be a teacher and today I am a teacher. I studied Physics while in school and it is a very marketable course that is needed in teaching institutes, especially colleges.

What challenges have you faced as a teacher?

There are always challenges when it comes to teaching humans. Dealing with the pupil is very difficult and that of the students is not too difficult because they are grown so they behave well. As a teacher, I know the task ahead of me and so I get ready for the challenges at all times. I teach students and for that reason, I do not have many challenges but some of the challenges are;

  • Student eating during lectures.

  • Students charting during lectures.

  • I hate it when I am teaching and a student's phone rings, it's a distraction and that has been one of my challenges.

  • Side talks and conversation.

As a teacher, I face challenges not only from the students but as well from the school management authority. Having inadequate facilities to teach is another challenge for a teacher because it helps the students understand better when I take them to the laboratory.

How do you create a stimulating and supportive learning environment?

Yes, as a teacher, I know when my students are tired and when they are sound, to create a stimulating learning environment, immediately I enter the class I, first of all, take my attendance, and doing it for some months now has helped bring their attention together to be serious. Secondly, I give room for questions from the students and that also has enhanced ad stimulate the learning environment. Lastly, the environment matters to students' learning, to make them very comfortable.

What professional development opportunities have you pursued to enhance your teaching practice?

Oh yes, growing up as a child, I loved teaching, especially my younger ones, my mother always tells me I will be a teacher someday because she has seen the zeal in me, and as God would have it, I am a teacher today. I studied physics BSc while in school which has not qualified me to be in the teaching profession. Presently, I am running PGDE(postgraduate diploma in education) program with the NTI (national teachers institute) body affiliated with the University of Ilorin to add up my professional qualification.

A teacher reads books, readers are leaders, therefore, the teacher makes a lot of research to develop himself and to be ready for every question from the students so, what I do to develop myself in my profession is to read books, both inspiring and academy books.

Currently, higher education is very expensive. What do you think about this, or is there an alternative to it?

That is just the fact going on today, education is becoming so expensive no one can talk about so, what I think about this is that those that have means should further their education, and those that have no money or not enough money, can involve in handwork to start learning which is another progress in life.

Higher education is indeed getting more expensive and then individuals who have no money at all should engage in something that can bring food to their table or look for work that can pay them. Governments should also consider and see a way they can help the poor or less privileged through the education system.

Thank you all for reading through my post, I invite @sailawana, @fantvwiki, and @nadiaturrina to participate in this contest, the k you, and I love you all.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for participating in the steemit engagement challenge. Wishing you success in this competition. Be sure to share your valuable feedback on other contest entries. Which helps you win. I wish you success in this competition.

CategoryRemarkScore
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Club status1.5/2
Quality Content1.5/2
Markdown Style1.5/2
Total8.5
CategoryRemark
Support #burnsteem25
Voting CSI4.2
Period (Club Status)28/11/22 (75)
Transfer to Vesting269.801 STEEM
Cash Out76.670 STEEM
 2 years ago 

Thanks for your warm review, comment and support, and I will do the necessary as I keep steeming.

 2 years ago 

Wowwww, you teach with such a large number of students, it's amazing. I hope you are always healthy and can give your best with what you teach, success to you.

 2 years ago 

Yes dear, i am trying my best to be that good teacher in good health and bad smetimes, thanks for your warm comment and I wish you the best too friend.

 2 years ago 

Wah aku baru tahu bahwa kamu adalah seorang pengajar juga. Memang mengajar bukanlah hal yang mudah namun merupakan hal mulia.
Sukses untuk kontes nya.

 2 years ago 

Wah aku baru tahu bahwa kamu adalah seorang pengajar juga. Memang mengajar bukanlah hal yang mudah namun merupakan hal mulia.
Sukses untuk kontes nya.

I hate it when I am teaching and a student's phone rings, it's a distraction and that has been one of my challenges.

I have learnt to accommodate ringing phones in my class because the phone has become a part of my teaching aid.
Students are allowed to lookup definitions and new updates. It is also used to corroborate the information they are receiving which helps them learn the art of scrutinizing information.

Though I will always advice them to put their phones vibration mode.
It's not easy to manage the phone in the class because some will always get distracted by it.

 2 years ago 

You are very right sir, I appreciate your time and effot and I wish you the best.

 2 years ago 

You have stressed on an important issue regarding the challenges faced as a teacher. Some students can be provoking there by eating and talking to one another while lecture is going on and that can be very annoying.

But then as a teacher, you have managed this conditions in a proper way and that is good, I have seen your photos to. You are doing great.

 2 years ago 

You are so amazing to be a teacher. you are the heroes of education in your country, continue to be passionate about teaching your students so that they can become successful people one day 💪

 2 years ago 

Nice to know you are a college teacher and see the photography. After parents, teachers are the makers of a student's life. Your presentation was very good. I appreciate your teaching and wish you all the best.

Who says a teacher's job only focuses on teaching? A teacher's job can be said to be quite long, apart from being a teacher, they also still have to complete some administration. For example, making lesson plans, correcting student work, graphing learning progress, and so on. Not to mention a teacher has to carry out training outside of teaching hours. Of course, this is very time-consuming right? In fact, not infrequently they also have to work overtime. I also share posts about teachers, if you have time please take a look and I am very happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74