Steem Inspiration Contest - The Unforgettable Day - An act of Kindness

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago

Good day to all lovely steemians!! Today is a very fine day and I hope you are all enjoying your day!!!

And to you @supo1 thank you for initiating this amazing contest where Steemians can share their inspirational stories and of course to inspire and uplift the readers.

Well, we are all living our different lives, facing different struggles and challenges every single day. We even face silent battles within ourselves, trying hard with all our might to win it every single time. But, this is all part of LIVING. We meet different kinds of people in all walks of life and they're either a blessing or a lesson.

Let me share to you one of the most unforgettable moment of my life that happened years ago when I was in college. We had this charity program organized by my teacher for the Christmas Season. Out of many organization here, we chose Hospicio de San Jose - a Home for the Aged located in Barili, Cebu Philippines. It was my first time visiting a Home for the Aged and I was overwhelmed with what I saw, there are a lot of elderlies left alone by their families.
In celebrating the spirit of Christmas we gave them clothes, blankets and foods and we organized few contests for them like singing and dancing. I even danced and sang with them.

After the activities we went to a secluded part of the Hospicio, a room for bedridden elderlies. I approached one elderly woman lying in her bed and gave her blanket and clothes. I was moved and in tears when she reached my hands and smiled to me ( the sweetest smile I've ever seen ) and said
" Thank you child for visiting me. I am now in my death bed and I only have few days left but I am thankful that someone visited me today and even gave me blanket and foods. "
She even said she missed her children. I felt sorry for her and the least I could do that time was to hug her and comfort her.

That moment I remembered my mother and made a promise to myself that I will never ever abandon my mother and left her alone in a Home for the Aged and that I will take care of her even in her deathbed because she's my mother and I love her.

That's the end of my story.

Always remember that no matter how complicated life is, let's not forget to spread kindness because one act of kindness could mean everything to someone.

Yours truly
@saneunji

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66