The Stranger I won't forget by @rosita-nkefor

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago

I still remember that day as clear as a blue sky. It was the 16th of October 2019. That was the day I was writing my competitive entrance exam into the Higher Teachers Training College at the University of Bamenda.

I was jittery not only because I didn't attend preparatory classes, but because I will be stepping foot into Bambili for the first time, since the crisis began in 2017. The area was rumoured to be a warzone with the "rebels" constantly kidnapping students. This period was not good because it was life threatening to be a student. Nevertheless, life couldn't stand still and we had to adapt.

With all my documents and writing materials set, I went on my way. I prayed long and hard that morning for anything could happen. When I boarded the taxi, I avoided contact with everyone and held my bag tightly. My phone was buried deep yet reachable in my bag and I closely watched my surroundings for any suspicious activity. I considered nobody as my friend and slowly made my way toward what was supposed to be Bambili.

When the taxi stopped at the final stop for university students, I alighted and stood utterly confused on where to go. Scared to ask anyone, I just watched people to see who might aid me. Suddenly, a young woman who boarded the same taxi as I asked me if I was to write the concours. I debated refusing but seeing my options limited, I said yes. She then told me she also had to write the concours into the second cycle and that I should follow her. With no other choice, I did.

Surprisingly, she was a very nice and kind lady and wasn't a child kidnapper as I was wary of. She kept me company and helped me with directions to find my hall. I never got her name nor told her mine since I was still cautious. We were just strangers, but the encounter was one I'd never forget.

Sort:  

She gave you a hand who knows you can do that to someone else too.
I once met a lady on the street. She helped me through a rough time for a certain period. I wish I knew her name.

I always keep in mind to help others whenever I can.
For some reason, not knowing their names give it the illusion of your guardian angel helping you through others.

Interesting thought. Never think about guardian angels.

Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59