An Opportunity to Right my Wrong by @idken

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago (edited)

AllImages26062021_181228.png
I know there are some decisions that are irreversible, and it's quite unfortunate that i can't turn back the hands of time.
The story I'm going to share is a very pathetic one, and for the sake of this contest, I'm going to throw more light on how it happens. How my carelessness cost the life of a kid, injured the brother and the mother.
That was the moment of madness from my part because i didn't know what i was thinking.
I will personally take the blame because i was in a better position to salvage the situation. And I was in the best position to prevent it from happening.
This incident happens on a Saturday evening while coming back from work.
There was this bus driver who was on the speed lane and didn't notice that there was a bump ahead , and on hitting the bump, one of the bus door which was not properly fixed fell off and landed on the middle of the road.
I was very close to where the door was. I should have picked it up which i didn't. And there was this tricycle carrying a woman with 3 months old baby and a 5year old boy.
Before the tricycle could see what was in front of him, because it was too late and at the same time,it was getting darker.
What we heard was a sound of his tricycle colliding with the door and the tricycle then somersaulted.
The 5year old boy was the first to come out, followed by the driver and then the mother. But unfortunately, the baby didn't make it.
And this incident has been haunting me on a daily. I should have done something to prevent the baby from dying. Sometimes i wish i could have taken the place of the baby.

So when people who were at scene started ranting at the bus driver, and then eventually drawn the attention of the police.
I was just there watching from a distance, feeling guilty, and at the same time i felt relieved that they accusing fingers were not pointed at me.
There was this girl who saw what happened.
She walked towards me, and she was like
It is only you that would have prevented it, but i will let it slide.
And i had to defend myself because words are like bullet, if they escape you can't catch them again.
But since that day, i have not been myself.
How i wish.
How i wish i can go back and right my wrong. And the little innocent life wouldn't have been lost.

I'm @idken and this is my story

Sort:  

Just a little relent to help others could lead to the misfortune of other and sometime lead to our regret. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33