Steem inspiration contest| The pandemic story by @faithilyn.

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago (edited)

virus-4976408_640.webp
Source

Thank you so much @supo1 for this contest.

Yes when the year 2020 popped in, I was one of those who were so excited. Excited because it was a new year and also excited because I was going to give birth to my baby girl in a new year. Little did I know it would turn out to be a deadly year.

But am grateful that I got a lovely daughter in that year just before things got so worse. In my country which is Uganda we had a total lock down, but all this happened after I had left the hospital, that's when all cars, boda-bodas(motorcycles) were stopped from moving and all people were supposed to be in their homes.

I really don't know what I really would have done, so I thank God everyday for helping me through out that because I saw how pregnant women struggled to get to the hospital and how many of them lost their lives all because there was no means of transport and even those who had cars at home, they were banned from using them.

And another heartbreaking thing is that, the police in my country killed alot of people more than covid 19 killed all in the name of making sure that people follow the guidelines set for covid 19. Forexample many pregnant women and even other people who were sick were shot dead because they used motorcycles to go to hospitals. So the police guys gave excuses that they shot those people because they were disobeying the president's orders.😥

Everytime I think about that, I kneel and thank God that he protected me from such situations. By the way, my mom called my daughter "the blessed one" that's the name she calls her.🌺

Another thing that hurt me so much about the pandemic is that because of the lock down, churches were also locked, so we're not supposed to go to church, so I missed that togetherness we always had at church whenever we met in Sundays but it was also a blessing in disguise I may say because, it united my family, we prayed together alot, read scriptures together alot and our daughters though still young ( 2 and 1 years) they know what it means when we say we are going to pray, you see them humbling themselves. So atleast am grateful for that.🌼

The pandemic also taught me to save for uncertainties, because you never know what is going to happen the next day. Even as I write this we are again in a lock down for the second phase of covid 19 but am glad that this time around we had learned from the first experience.🌷

Am so grateful for the gift of life, for my family and for all the protection God has bestowed upon us because we really don't deserve it but it's all because of God's love and mercy towards us. Am also grateful for all the challenges I have faced during this covid 19 because they have really helped me to learn and to know what am supposed to do in life and also to be more grateful.🌺

Let's continue to wear our masks, wash our hands and sanitize and also keep that social distance. If there is no good reason for you to go out, please stay at home, we will be more safer within the walls of our homes. This covid 19 is real, let's try as much as we can to be safe.😏

Sort:  

Yes. Even the prophets teach us to prepare for uncertainties. Great piece, well said.

That is so true dear

Thanks for sharing

You are welcome

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Thank you so much sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63