THE STRANGER I WONT FORGET

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago

Hello lovely Steemians, my name is Emediong Bassey and it's my delight to be member of this platform and also to be participating in this contest. The stranger I will never forget is actually the person who opened the way for me to learn Steemit.

images (35).jpegSource:

A TRUE LIFE STORY

It was early last year, at about the middle of February to be precise, when the dilemma of the Corona virus pandemic was unfolding, when the school environment was becoming saturated with rumours of lockdowns, this was when it all happened.
It was a busy day for me, and I had just retired from the classroom to find what to eat.
I was at the school cafeteria where I had just ordered a plate of some melon soup with Garri. The stress of the day and the days disappointments had overwhelmed my thoughts and I was also clouded with the thoughts of the prospective tests and assignments that had piled up for me to do. I was still struggling to devour my first wrap of Garri and still contemplating whether to request of extra Garri in order to attain the satisfaction I needed.

IMG-20191220-WA0019.jpgGarri with soup, a students best source of nutrition

Then entered who boys who happen to be the actual reasons I am typing this post on Steemit currently. The boys walked into the already crowded cafeteria, walking majestically with a severe exudation of confidence. They were definitely friends (as I suspected), as they chatted steadily and gestured calmly while they walked towards the food stand. They kept on talking in undertones, obviously it looked like what they were talking about was of immense importance as could be told by their hand gesturings. One of them was tall with a slim physique while the other one was short with slightly built physique. The short one kept talking about how he had been flagged down because of plagiarism, and the tall one advised him to think more creatively and shun copy and paste. I was still wondering what the two unknown young men had plagiarized that had them grumbling about, then a call just entered one their phones. They called seemed excited, as if he had won something, asking them where they were and immediately responding that he will be with them soon. I had actually mistaken a she for a him,as it was eventually a girl. The girl ran up to the two boys on sighting them, and gave them hugs. She told them that she had been voted by one curator, and that she is so happy. She had received an upvote equalling about 25 Steem dollars, she said, and that she is going to use it to complete her fees even before her parents eventually send her money for fees. She continually thanked God for having the opportunity to join Steemit, and that she'll continue to be a member even to her death. The two boys laughed heavily jokingly telling her that she will have to "show them love" so that they'll not have to fight her. She laughed off, finally expressing her gratitude to them for opening her to the platform. My curiosity had grown "past the roof" at that time and I was forced to ask the boys what really they are doing. They replied me that it was Steemit platform. When I asked them what it was all about, they answered by telling me it is an online platform that enables me to post items like the conventional social media platforms, and eventually get paid for it. I was wowed, very interested in the program, but I had an hinderance at that moment, I didn't have an Android phone. So they three already Steemians left that place without being able to register me to the platform, despite the huge interest I had for the program. They dropped a peice of paper for me containing their phone numbers, of which I had eventually misplaced. But their memories remain evergreen on my mind. I've never been captivating over an online program, than the way I was during that time. Because I lost their contact info, I was unable to meet with these Steemians even when I had a new Android phone, but the memories of everything they said is still fresh.
Although I had to wait for almost a year extra before I eventually got myself registered on the Steemit platform, I have continually been grateful to these Steemians because they laid the foundation to my successes today. It therefore confirms the fact that the Steemit community and Steemians as a whole are always supportive, ready to help anybody even if he/she is a total stranger.

bc9e2279836cc3ede8a980f4d3cfcd34.jpg

Thanks you family.

Sort:  

That was wonderful story @ebedossantos 👍 though they're not guiding you but they open up your mind to join steemit. Thank you for sharing with us and wish you a best luck in the contest.

Thank you dear
I really appreciate

I wish i knew about steemit when i doing my ND program. Steemit is an educative platform. You just have to be consistent.

Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59