My experience at the OASIS

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

depositphotos_30092445-stock-photo-oasis.jpg
https://images.app.goo.gl/1DvsUzRTmZERfDYn7
it was after a sunny day, we just finished our camp drills at the nysc department orientation camp at gombe.
My closest friends that I met from the camp. I think what Drew Us close was because of our similarities, we were all Igbo people from different states though but at least we understood each other and could tell secret jokes in our language, after hearing the people of Gombe for so long it was a breath of fresh air the day I met them.
Luckily it was a weekend and we were not really expected to be on the camp site so we decided that we were going on an adventure. Chioma brought out her phone and googled where we could go on an adventure close to gombe, a few other places popped up but we all chose tulo tulo THE DESERTS OF LAND AND HOPE as they called it which is located in northern Eastern Nigeria (YOBE) just sitting between Nigeria and niger Republic. We packed our bags for the trip chioma complaining all through the trip on how she didn't pack everything she wanted I was baffled considering the fact that her bag looked bigger than all of us combined we arrived midday and we were too excited to sit back on the way we saw a lot of camels there with things on their bag we asked one of the aid workers and she said it was dark salt also known as potash as it was in massive quantity in tulo tulo.
As we got there we marveled at the beauty of nature. For a minute everyone was too stunned to complete a sentence without stuttering. The place was a definition of serene, beautiful and peaceful. Water in a valley like place surrounded by trees. A sharp contrast to the sand dunes around. It was such a beautiful view coupled with the fact that we couldn't even make or answer calls it was a very wonderful place to be. From the thick vegetation surrounding it it was very easy to discern that the soil was very fertile, I also realised that palm trees were abundant and that tulo tulo meant marshy land with abundant water. We snapped a lot of pictures and had fun. It was getting late and we were getting ready to leave when we heard the anguished cry of a woman we all rushed to her, she claimed that her son was missing and hence a search party began we searched until we found the boy under a palm tree eating some of the nut that fell from it. His mother was furious of course although I had to admit that it was funny. Drawn to nature I wandered off to explore a bit more. As I kept on walking the voices got more distant but I continued hoping to find unspoken secrets the place held. I looked up and it was totally dark I had no idea on how to go back I realise that the vegetation was a lot more dense than I thought. I walked around in circles and gave up and just hoped they would find me I was so scared with strange noises around me. I hid behind a stone saying a short prayer. I waited for hours but no one was coming for me I cried and regretted why I ever left my group I didn't even know when I slept off behind the rock I was hiding and when I open my eyes
it was morning my ribs hurt my legs were frozen I couldn't move just then I heard someone calling my name and I realised that it was a police officer with my friends behind him. They helped me up and because the cars could not come up to that place I had to be carried and put on the camel's back where I lay with my aching ribs and back after that day I was left with a life haunting pneumonia that never left me up till now. The trip was beautiful but I came out wounded and hurt but I was happy because of the experience and the adventure I can't say I regret it but I have learnt my lessons.
@dayographix
@awesononso
@whitestallion
@alphafx
@nellymartinez

Sort:  

Wow! Nice write up! Enjoyed reading through

Thank you 😊

You're welcome

Nice writting good outfit. Keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37