The Power of Perseverance

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

Good morning fellow Steemits, have a great day ahead.

James 1:1-4 contains one of the hardest commands for many of us. It reads: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” I have to admit that praise in the face of trials and temptation is not my initial reaction. However, I am learning to change my viewpoint to understand that every situation works for my good if I give God control. Matthew Henry once wrote: “We should not pray so much for the removal of affliction, as for wisdom to make a right use of it.” This is my prayer. I want to learn from each and every trial and lesson that God allows me to go through. I want to grow. I want to be molded into a closer representation of my Christ. The only way this can be achieved is when I persevere – without endless complaining.

image.png
image source

A faith that is never tested can never be truly relied upon. This is the gift of trials, persecutions, calamity, and hardships. As we learn to depend on God, we realize just how dependable He is. As we begin to trust Him to supply our needs, we will be overpowered by His grace. God is so much bigger than we can understand. His love for us would drown the whole universe. Yet, if we never test our belief in these truths, we never understand their power. It is one thing to say that God is our provider, and another to understand deeply because we have been down to nothing and seen that provision first-hand. That is why we rejoice when trials come our way. That is why we need to pray for wisdom during these times. No trial is pointless. No hardship comes without a plan. God allows these painful and sometimes scary moments because they shape us, strengthen our faith, and prove His power to our questioning minds. The next time you are faced with an opportunity to worry, praise instead. Seek wisdom to navigate your trials and learn to exercise your faith. Rejoice when you must persevere because you are on the road to maturity.

Have a really blessed day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78