THE ROAD OF NO RETURN PART 1.

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

Growing up in Benin city back in the days, was like growing up in East coast and West coast in America. This was when we had the likes of 2Packs and Biggies influencing young men in Africa. Just finished my SSCE and trying to see how I can make my JAMB, get into the university to study engineering. I tried like trice and I was Jamed by JAMB. Mind you, it wasn’t because I wasn’t brilliant, but because of our Nigeria factors. I had 4 A’s and 3 C’s in my SSCE and was one of the best in my class then.

image.png
image source

I finally could not wait to write the 4th JAMB, so I went into the polytechnic through a program they call pre-degree. This program was a one-year program that will give you an automatic ticket to year one as a full time student. My immediate elder sister was already in her HND 2 while I was only just trying to get into school. One thing I failed to mention, I did have it in mind to belong to a cult group when I get into school, and I was sure which of the cult group I want to belong to, I was equally convinced that the group I want to belong to was the strongest on campus. I had this believe because my sister’s boyfriend belonged to this cult group in his school. There’s this adage in our local parlance ‘’ If you want eat frog, eat the one when fat pass’’. I also made sure that my primary motive of getting into school was to get my kpali (Certificate) and every other thing I get involved in was going to be secondary.

My first week in school was to settle down and get all my reading materials, and my registration number so I can settle down as quick as possible. All these I did in just two weeks. I actually did not know anybody that was a cult member, so I decided to go hunting myself by always going to the cafeteria where you meet a lot of people with various activity going on. One fateful day, my sister’s boyfriend came to visit her and decided to check on me too.

I was excited because I was going to meet some of his friends in my school so I can be introduced and recommended as a potential candidate. So we decided to go see some of his friends, we met two of them in the cafeteria and immediately they started speaking their cult slang. One said ‘’ Henry this your boy suppose be fine boy ooo’’. Being a fine boy means for you to belong to their group. My eyes sparkled because this was exactly what I wanted to hear.

We actually had a nice time out that day and we left the cafeteria. On our way back to the hostel where I reside, a young slim boy approached Uyi my sister’s boyfriend and held his hand and yanked off the wristwatch he was wearing from his wrist.

An argument ensued and from what I could gather, they knew each other from Benin and Uyi was actually owing Andy some money which he was yet to pay as at the time of this incident. I later came to know the name of the boy that yanked the wrist watch out of Uyi’s hand to be Andy kolo. Andy kolo told Uyi that he can only get the watch back after paying him the money with interest. I was amazed at this young man’s courage after he left. We were four in number and a slim young boy came to collect a watch from the guy I admire because of how popular he was in his cult group and nothing happened to the guy that caused the mess. I turned to him and before I could speak, he said ‘’ That boy go receive five slaps before the close of today, na me Uyi talk am you go see’’.

I actually wanted to slap Andy kolo when he did that to my mentor, but the other boys with us gave me a sign to stop. I later thank my stars that I didn’t if not, I would not have lived to tell this story today. I was the youngest amongst them, and a bloody half JMBITO, what do I know self about these things. They started telling me Andy kolo’s story, that he belonged to a rival cult group and that he was one of their hitmen and was top of their list to HIT when the time comes. I waited till 8pm and nothing happened, so I excused Uyi from his friends and reminded him that the day was over and nothing has happened to Andy kolo. ‘’ You want cause war for this school’’ was the question he asked me. So I recorded that in my head and it got me thinking and having a second thought about joining their group.

A man should be a man of his word, but I now see that for Andy kolo not to get that slap on that day, it means he was a stronger than Uyi and his guys. Uyi left the next day and still nothing happened because I was closely monitoring the situation, so I decided to do my own investigation. My roommate was in OND 2 and he knows all the bad guys on campus, so I decided to ask him who Andy kolo was. ‘’Andy kolo and his cult group are the most dreaded on campus’’. Paul my bunk mate said. This got me excited and I decided to go look for Andy kolo and make him my friend, even though I know it will cost me my life or whatever. I made up my mind to join their group no matter what. That was the day my travails started!

Sort:  

#A very bad decision you made

I know, but boys will always be boys. I am 43 now and i wish i could turn back the hands of time.
Watch out for part 2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.17
ETH 2341.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35