SOMETHING I'M THANKFUL OF FROM MY PAST

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

There are a lot of things from my past that I am thankful I gave up on. My anger and 'unforgiveness' are two of them.
I didn't know where all of that came from. I was barely 18. I hadn't even suffered too much pain by that time but I was bitter and angry and I would never let anything go.

133953701_1292587654454742_7193745968138295502_n.jpg

Shockingly, I wasn't revengeful. I didn't even know there was a thing like getting even to set yourself free. Or maybe I did, but it wasn't my thing. I just wrote it down in my large paged diary every time someone offended me. Dates, name of the offender and the offence and it always meant one thing for me - cancelling the offender from my life.

I don't remember a time I ever tried to pay anyone back in their coins, but keeping those records did as much damage as revenge would've done.

I hurt every time. I had my diary every day too and it was more like a constant reminder to stay angry. So every time I flipped through the pages, my anger grew mightier than it ever was.

I knew I was going the wrong way but I didn't have the might to stop myself. I didn't even know I could talk to God about them. But one day, I did and I found myself gradually letting go of all the resentment and anger that I bored within me.
I was heavily burdened from anger on people most of who didn't even know they wronged me. I had burnt so many bridges by then and ended so many friendships even before they started.

But I would look for a way to heal myself. I did find. I found peace with some of them who did little or no wrong to me. I wrote to them. I texted them. And some of who wouldn't respond, I picked the little courage I had in me and went to them.

It didn't work out well with everyone then but I am glad I ever tried. That I am a better human now.
I am not totally a forgiving person now though. You know the thin line that lies between forgiveness and forgiveness? It is where I stand with one leg inside forgiveness.

I think being unforgiving is not completely a bad thing. Neither is it completely a good thing too. I just think it all depends on how one wants to run their lives.

I have chosen forgiveness although I still stand that some things are unforgivable. I am still learning to create a balance between the two; to not be too much or too little on either side, so much that it will make me lose myself again.
And for as much as I can remember now, there's just one person on earth who I still hold this unforgiveness for. And who I will be willing to forgive if he genuinely apologizes.

133904070_3525641304221656_5834968611025704724_o.jpg

Yes, my forgiveness means a lot to him - he doesn't know this.
But I do not carry this grudge in my heart anymore. I have let it go - even though I haven't forgiven.
Now I forgive and forget completely, and I let go but don't forgive sometimes.
What's something from your past you're thankful you have let go of?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44