Flowers & Murders (Part 5)

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

Amina

"Wani yana neman ka" my five year old son tapped me on my back to get my attention and started jumping on my bed. "Oh" I grumbled looked at him with sleepy eyes.

160668621_1138936576552751_5526011972004883120_o.jpg

"Who?" I asked while faking a sleepy and pretending to be snoring "Sleepy, sleepy mommy" he laughed.
"Who?" I asked again, this time sitting on my bed.

"A man, a big man with bear bear" he answered while using his hands to emphasize how big the man is " And I didn't open the door, I looked through the window" he added proudly.

"Good boy" I said and he beamed at my praise.
I had told my son Sagir not to open the door to strangers, this is Lagos, you don't know who is who. I climbed down from the bed.

"Mommy, when are we going to eat" Sagir called from where he was jumping on my bed.
"I thought you ate few minutes ago" I asked.

"But am hungry again" he grumbled following me while I walked towards the living room. I looked back at him, his face was in a pout as if he was going to cry. I laughed silently "that little bugger" he knows am going to feed him after am through with the mysterious visitor.

I walked into the living room and my eyes wander around, my gaze falls on a pictures of us, he had been eleven month old, I had to bribe him with a piece of pie to take that photo, it was our first year in Lagos. Moving to Lagos had not been easy, I had lived in Niger all my life, born in Niger, schooled in Niger, married in Niger.

"Married, now a widow" I said with a sad smile. I could still remember the day I meet Sahir, I meet my husband in school. I had been studying for my degree in engineering. Sahir had come visit his brother who had been a lecturer at my school, it was like a first sight.

160646056_2215709278563478_8560246198336797807_o.jpg

Sahir death had been a real blow, he had been coming from the states, it was our year anniversary. They had been bombing in the north at that period and I guess he had been one of the unlucky ones. That day was the worst day of my life and if not for Sagir I don't think I would have survived.

I opened the door, it was a group of men, Sagir must have noticed only one of them from the side of the window, two men of the group were in police uniform. A man part from the group, he was a handsome man if you like the tall and macho type, his eyes was filled with fear, pain and anger, he brought out his hands and I extended mine to shake his.
"Good afternoon Mrs Khan" he said with a voice filled with misery "My name is Inspector Tony Okafor"

To be continued...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60608.55
ETH 2411.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59