Steem Nigeria Contest: Story of My Life: Pain and JoysteemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

Different event and occurrences come to play in our daily life in which we have no control over.

Most times when pain comes into our life, there is also a glimpse of joy in it unknowing to us.

I have never experienced the pain I felt when I lost my sister, I try not to talk about it because it makes me cry.

I was home from school, we had two weeks break. My elder sister was pregnant, just some weeks to her delivery date.

I was home with my mum when she told me to go spend some time with my sister because her husband traveled on a business trip.

At that time, I was diagnosed of malaria but still had my strength. The next day I packed up and went to be with her.

It was really a funny experience, we were mocking ourselves like who would take care of who, a sick girl and a pregnant lady. That was a funny combo.

I stayed with her till her husband got back and some additional days to it. I had already recovered from the malaria before I went back home.

I returned home some days later to prepare back to school, my break was over.

I was in my lecture hall one afternoon when I got a call from my brother that my sister had put to birth, it was a good and wonderful news.

The next day, I came from school to the hospital where she was, I was so happy. When I saw her she wasn't feeling strong at all.

IMG_20171126_073029.jpg

I asked why but they said its the process of the delivery, that in time she will recover. I was happy, its a baby girl. My mum first granddaughter.

I returned to school with a big smile on my face and shared the good news with my friends.

Two days later, I got a call again from my brother telling me that my sister didn't make it, that she is gone.

He said, the doctor that operated on her did a bad job. She was rushed to another hospital but there wasn't much time.

I was devastated when I saw her lying lifeless, I had to put myself together in other to console my mum.

I try not to cry in her presence, trying to be strong for her and the baby. The baby also helped in consoling my mum.

IMG-20180312-WA0005.jpg
Just her smile alone will bring laughter to your face. Now she is a big girl, according to her

Am not a baby

IMG_20191228_162104_7.jpg

All this while she has brought happiness in our lives which made us to forget our sorrow and look at the brighter side of life.

I am glad am able to share this experience though its a painful one, I never thought I could do it.

Thanks to @greatness96, his contest gave me the courage to share this experience.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

@ogejoy. I wouldnt want to say am sorry for the loss. But i will want to congratulate you for being a big aunty to that cute lookking girl. Many more good new will shall share.

AMEN

Amen and thanks

 4 years ago 

I understand such pains. I cried in my research lab when I got a call that my mum is gone.

Pains are part of life. Sorry for your lost.

Good to see the baby has grown into a beautiful big girl.

Thanks for joining the contest.

Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28