THE STEEM NIGERIA CONTEST: THE MOST BEAUTIFUL MOMENT I EVER EXPERIENCED: MY FIRST TRAVEL OUT OF EDO STATE.

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago (edited)

My elder brother had traveled to many states and few countries. My elder sister has traveled to few states. They have already gotten the exposure.

Anytime we discuss to that point, I will be laughed at, that I have not even travel out of Benin city, Edo state Nigeria. I felt the urge to travel, I should say it in my family's blood.

• • • • •

A day came, my sister took my phone to school because hers got bad during exam period and it was not replaced immediately. mine was the sacrifice.

She got an invitation from YFOEN to travel to Bayelsa, for their 3days seminar titled behavioral change communication. Because it was during her exam, she couldn't go.

Then I said I will go. My mom allowed me, my dad allowed me after the series of confirmation that I will be safe and comfortable.

I was going but not fully happy that am not going with my phone which means that I can't snap any view I see on the way. Not even my happy pose.

I was left with a little phone that can say "hello". No picture for me I said in disgust. I woke up on Wednesday 27th nov. 2019, I felt alive because I was going to travel today.

I got ready latest 8am and went to YFOEN office, along ugbowo Lagos road nearly opposite Wema bank. Other people involved came, we gathered ourself, sort out those with invitation.

Those without invitation went back home because there was no arrangement for them to travel along.

We treked to muyi line motors, it was close to the office. We took a coaster bus because it will contain us and we will not use two bus, like they wanted us to.

Reason being that, people will not wait for the coaster bus to get full because of the time factor for it to get filled.

We entered the bus, at the park people came inside, they advertised their product, did prayers and collect seeds, sell herbs. People bought one or two things.

The driver came and we zoomed off. We passed through ologbo, warri, delta, I saw shoprite for the first time in delta state. Even that big church that looks like a very big hotel.

It has a big screen close to the road. I couldn't snap anything😭😭 my eyes were filled with exitement. What an adventure. All the waters we passed at warri, delta and some part of Bayelsa were all black.

In Bayelsa, rivers have taken over their houses two story buildings became one flat such that people connect thick planks from the top floor, straight to the main road so as to escape the river while coming to and fro.

The only market I saw in Bayelsa was at Yenogua, the capital of Bayelsa. And the market was on the main road. It caused alot of go slow and the traffic warder was having only one hand.

Finally by 4:36pm I guess, our journey ended at HONNI HILLS HOTEL Yenogua, Bayelsa state. We checked in after the grouping have been done at the reception. Two to one room.

My room number was precisely room 27, down floor, right wing. I hold the keys and my roommate Nathaniel followed me or the other way round I can't recall that.

We opened the door and we waowed simultaneously, it cozy and chilled. The first thing we did was to check the toilet, the water flow, the TV and they all worked well. Cheers!🍻

Screenshot_20200821-192035_1.png
when i was writing my experience on my book because i had no phone

Screenshot_20200821-183043_1.png
i took this when i was done writing

I lie on the bed and it was so soft and cold, I called him, he checked it out and rated the hotel classy. Not until the cold started penetrating the duvey.

Screenshot_20200821-192101_1.png
Me feeling the soft bed

We wanted to freshen up with hot water, we put on the heater, the water was still cold. We regulated it to the highest. It was still cold. We left the heater on so that we can check again.

Then we went again to check, this time only small water came out, we discovered the water in the hotel was finished so we left the bathroom like that.

They called us for dinner around 8pm- 8:20pm. I finished eating and head back to the room with my room mate. He was doing Snapchat and messaging his friends.

I asked him to shot some of my picture while I pose, I also took the phone to shot some pose myself. He snapped me, I didn't know until he sent all the picture of me into my memory card and I saw it at home when I put the card in my phone.

EMMA~2.jpeg
this is me and my roommate, he took this picture after we came from dinner

We had great time watching films and enjoying the comfort. I went to the bathroom to check for water, yes there is water, but still it not hot. I went to a guys room, they said theirs was working.

I needed to bath with warm water, the cold is too much even after we Putoff that A.C. I bath with the cold water, what can I do?. Him too, I was grumbling, what will an hotel close to rivers be doing with A.C.

I watched film till I slept off. I woke up the next morning by almost 6am my roommate was still sleeping, he folded and removed the duvey from my body during the night. I was exposed, but didn't bother since I was wearing a t-shirts and sweater and he was not wearing any top.

I entered the bathroom, the water was still cold, I tuned of and on the heater but the water was Still cold. I was bathing when the hot water ran through and burned my skin.

I shouted, ouch!!, I turned off the heater immediately. I bath with the warm water that follows, my room mate bath without hot water, he didn't want to get burnt.

I attended the seminar, we ate breakfast tea and meatpie during the seminar, we ate lunch after the seminar (jollof rice and swallow). Thereafter went to the room and feel the comfort

It continued till the 3day when we departed in the afternoon, the coaster bus that brought us also took us back home, I was smiling home because of the tip they gave me for attending.

• • • • •

So you should know, I arrived home that day at night and I was happy I finally travel out if of Edo state and it is the most beautiful moment i ever experienced.

Thank you for reading through💕💕

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

What an amazing moment you got.

I was enjoying every moment of your article and even wished it would not finish.

So lovely. I remember the first time I left my state, travelling is such an amazing adventure.

 4 years ago 

Yes oh! I love traveling even if its only once i have traveled out of benin

Lolz........😂😂😂Born and Breed in Benin, YFoEN has helped u to experience travel.
Sorry, its Yenegoa, yenegoa is my base, it was when i gained adimission dat i came to Benin, my uncles and their family is still there.
Nice experience!

 4 years ago 

Wao too much information boiling out. I love this pick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40