Steem Nigeria contest: the stranger i won't forget || organized by @prechyrukky

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

Hello everyone, am so excited to be a part of this weeks contest.

Everyday as we move out of our home or office, we walk pass different people that we don’t know and tag them as strangers. But these same people tend to lend a helping hand whenever they find us in a worrying situation.

This stranger I won't forget

When I finished my secondary school, I decided not to pursue the university Immediately, I just didn’t feel like it. So I was working with my mom to reduce her stress, so I was doing all the walking around which means there was probably no place I don’t know in Benin city because her customers was spread around. Both far and near.

images (8).jpeg
Image source

My mom is a professional tailor and she makes clothes mostly for schools.
The surprising thing was that people from outskirts of Benin were also coming to the shop out of recommendations from our current customers. One of the customer came all the way from rubber research sapele road to come and meet us at 2nd east circular.

After concluding the business agreement and all we were all surprised to see how people cherish our handwork. One faithful day, the customer told us to deliver her supplies straight to her school because she could not come due to parents pressure and told my mom to find a way to deliver the supplies, then she forwarded her address.

As I was the one walking about, I told my mom that I was going instead of her at least am not new to the road. So she agreed and credited my phone with recharge card so I could call. I reached the bus stop and called the place I was going to (rubber research) and the driver told me N400 = $1.05. the price was shocking that it made me calculated the distance that I was going.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErKy11ngZmxfA8SX3BeUhvYQqpXJPF2jfeXaxhHmFMTm5QDkDMeuJuNt9Wk7gGra3CEZpYjoWuNZ3WKdYFXCAR5Cs2v3rHyQ2WFG.jpeg
From @anselam

I paid and the the bus started the journey. The journey was farther that I thought. I slept inside the vehicle few minutes after we crossed the bridge. Me falling asleep inside a Vehicle is very rare or impossible. But I fell asleep. It was a woman that was sitting close to me that woke me up when we were very close to the borders of Benin, I mean the bus was closing up to a place they call coco.

I reminded the driver that I was going to rubber research and he told me he has long passed it. He then stopped and told me to take a vehicle back to rubber research. If it was not for that woman. I wonder where I would have ended that journey or where I will be today.

A rare mistake that almost cost me my life. I eventually reached my initial destination after making series of calls and the woman welcomed me properly, you know what I mean…

I can always remember this event. Thank you al for reading through. I hope you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58097.54
ETH 3176.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28