Steem Nigeria Contest: Story of My Life: MY BISHOP CONSECRATION

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

I want to thank @teamg-nigeria for this innovative initiative, that will in turn constitute engagement in the steemit website. This idea will definitely ensure the purpose of this contest; the 2Rs: Retention and Rewards.

As change is constant and man continues to grow, he will definitely have a lot of stories to tell about his yesterday.

My bishops consecration.

As a member of Christian dominion center, it was part of my duty to attend the consecration of my bishop by arch bishop Margret idahosa, the wife of late arch bishop Benson idahosa.

Sat, August 10, 2019. I woke up on a good note knowing that today was my pastors consecration into the seat of a bishop. I got ready on time so I can catch the free bus made available by the church.

The free bus(comrade bus) was to take off by 8:00am, so that our members can get to the venue on time. In order to fill up the allocated space provided at the venue for our church members.

Inclusive of my pastor. 7 other pastors were to be consecrated into the office of a bishop, 7 male pastors including my pastor and a female pastor. They all came with their members, to cheer for them.

The venue of this ordination was at THE BALM OF GILEAD located at km 6, Bypass/sapele road, Benin City. the place was very big that it had a university inside it.

Unfortunately for me I missed the bus, I knew that because one of our members came to our store that morning to amend her dress, and she said the bus left in her presence. Then I had no other means to go.

Then my mom said we all can follow her to the venue since she drove without any passenger and she concurred. She didn't know the routes, so I was using google map to direct her.

We followed through sapele road according to the direction of my map. We followed the map till we got to bypass at sapele road. The question they all asked was, are we passing through the bridge.

Here was me, confused, unable to read the map because I mistakenly pressed the reroute button and the map was showing me another route, different from the one we were following.

They were all shouting at me until we opted to ask a car that seems to be going to the venue. The car was not going to the venue, but did know the route. And they told us to use the bridge.

We used the bridge and we got to the venue in few minutes. On getting there there was a whole lots of crowd from all nukes and crannky of Nigeria. The place was big, we could find our members.

In the mist of the crowd, we managed to see our media personnel and he said we should wait that there is somebody that made him come out, so all of us will go inside when he comes.

Now the person came few moments after we arrived and he took us all to the allocated space for our church. The whole church was having no door, no window. only roofs and iron pillars to hold the roof.

We got to see the rest of our church members, but I couldn't see my pastor clearly, because the distance from his seat and where I was sitting was huge.
When they were calling other pastors, the members will screem on top of their voice.

Until they call my pastor and we screemed on top of our voices too. It now seems like a challenge.
Who shouts best. I had fun especially when chioma Jesus ministered live and the entire hall was filled with energy.

Screenshot_20200812-212121_1.png
when people were cheering for their bishops

The hall was rowdy when the bishops was addressing their members and the whole church. At this time church of God was having their megacon. And today was the last day.

Screenshot_20200812-212234_1.png
more empty seats, there were trying to snap with the bishop

Then the consecration began, other arch bishop also did their own process.
But it was arch bishop Margret idahosa that recommended my pastor at first and also joined in the consecration. My joy was full.

After the closing, some church members ran to the vehicle, while some went to snap picture with our newly consecrated bishop and his wife. I wanted to snap but my mom reminded me that, I didn't come with the free bus so I went there immediately before it gets filled, else I will come home by other means

I ran to the bus but the driver was not there, everybody was outside waiting for the driver. I regretted no taking any picture with my bishop because of a bus. The driver came after series of calls and he opened the door, everybody was rushing and pushing to ensure they have a seat in the bus. I got a seat while some stand

Screenshot_20200812-211827_1.png
this is me taking pictures while waiting for the driver

I got home that day by 4:00pm. The next day which was Sunday we did our bishop enthronement and he blessed us all. He thanked all the members who came to his consecration. He promised to give N10000 each to all the students that made time to come for the programs and they were very happy.

I have stories about my life but only few have pictures and many have no picture, I hope post will not be scored based on the presence or absence of pictures.
I want to thank everyone for reading through.

Disclaimer: all pictures in this post were taking by me. The date and the time are displayed by my phone, so no assumption here.

GOD BLESS.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Happy to know you finally got to the destination. You almost disappointed your people, I'm sure next time you want to use the map app they will remind you of that day.

Thank you for joining the contest.

Good luck.

This post has been rewarded by @focusnow from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project."

Keep posting good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates. Keep following all the rules in the Diary Game, as well as improving your Diary post content to get more attention. Thank you, Steemit Team!

 4 years ago 

Thank you very much. I appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84