my volunteering experience

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

Volunteering is often seen by most people as a stressful and no gain exercise and so they don’t desire to do it.

outreach.jpegmedical outreach from 2018

There is more to volunteering than meet the eyes, volunteering is supposed to be a process of learning and a time of developing yourself under harsh conditions if I may add that

While volunteering it is expected that your services are free of charge though some organization support/encourage individual but originally it is supposed to be a freewill movement, it is when one enters into or offers for any service of his/her own free will especially when done without pay

I have had experiences where I had volunteered in the past and it has always been a worth experience
There was this time I volunteered for a project under an association on management of waste (plastic), as at the time I lived in an urban area and usually plastic was not properly taken care of or not entirely managed

I got to find out that this plastics that aren’t properly disposed causes a lot of havoc on our everyday life but because the people haven’t been brought to this realization they will end up suffering from erosion which was a major problem we had to face in my community

When it rains flood will sweep though our community due to the blockage of out drainage system by plastic waste.
There was this other time I volunteered for a medical outreach in my home town some years back, the experience was both exciting and educative even while it wasn’t my field of study, I learnt some basic steps of saving lives that might come in handy someday.

outreach 2.jpeg group photo for the medical outreach

Just last week I volunteered for a football competition where I had to work closely with the organizers of my school and the media team.

hifl.jpeg volunteering in 2018

hifl 2.jpeg the team for 2018

hifl 2021.jpeg
group photo 2021

I noticed that as I get to volunteer more

  1. I gain knowledge and understanding of other people’s way of life
  2. I gain sense of purpose and see need to want to reach out
  3. I meet new people and help build communities
  4. It helps boost my self esteem
  5. I become happy when others are happy
  6. Engage a diverse range of skills

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55