Steen Nigeria reality contest: My journey with English language

in STEEM NIGERIA4 years ago

Screenshot_20210110-201954~2.png
Source

English language is the largest language by number of speakers and the third most spoken native language in the globe.

It is the most widely learned second language and is either the official language or one of the official languages in some countries.

Even in Nigeria where there are over 200 languages, english language is an official language in the country.

In some countries like England, USA, British etc. English language is their common language.

Here was experience for wrong use of english language in my secondary school.

I was awarded the second best english student in my class because I was good in writing and speaking of english language by English teacher.

I am good but not perfect in English language, but no matter how good and perfect you are, if no concentration, you might end up making a very big mess.

I remembered a day at school, my English teacher told my class perfect to submit our homework and I wasn't in class yesterday.

And I never knew if there was any assignment. So in order not to fail I quickly wrote on some few things and didn't has the time to cross-check.

I submitted thinking at least I wrote something good and am gonna be the best because I wrote on a good topic.

The next day, the teacher came and was reading everyone's work. It got to My turn, the whole class and I was anxious to hear what I wrote

He read all the mistakes In my grammatical sentences and some spellings I wrote in my passage, and the entire class was laughing at me.

I tried to explain the reason why the mistakes happened but I wasn't given the opportunity to explain because I was been mocked.

It wasn't a good morning and a good moment for me that day because I was labelled badly because of my terrible mistake.

So, that's my experience I had at my secondary school. Thanks for reading through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50