The Humiliation Story

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

Yesterday, a senior colleague's client collected the 7.4million naira cheque he had given him, simply because he had no car.

FB_IMG_1624468494776.jpg

I felt bad hearing this, especially when my colleague knew my story of years ago.
If you recall, I once made a post on how a client collected the 5million naira cheque he gave me, simply because I was about boarding a Keke before him.

He called me back, and told me there was something he forgot to write on the cheque. He told me he would get back to me. He never did, and my senior colleagues blamed me when they heard the story.
"You would have borrowed a car!"
"You would have gotten a special taxi!"
"You would have..."

I heard a lot of things, and understood that the corporate world comes with certain wants. I nearly wept that day, for it seemed like your appearance was more important than your capabilities.

When Architect TJ told me his story yesterday, it sent me down memory lane. I made him understand that I was angry with him, for he ought to know better as a senior colleague. At least, he knew about my story.
"I forgot I was going to collect a cheque," he said.

I feel so bad right now, because he is one of those colleagues who have turned into family. He made me some promises in recent times, and he was hoping to fulfill them through this job.

He didn't sleep last night, and he kept calling me on phone with the regret "why did I forget about packaging?"
My bitter experience that year influenced the choice of car I later bought, when I was in the position to afford one --- a classic item.

FB_IMG_1624468491046.jpg

Architect TJ could have prevented this sleepless night, if he had hired a car.
If you're reading this, try to understand that the corporate world pays proper attention to packaging -- it goes beyond your dressing most times.

Last week, an event planner was complaining of how she lost a job to another woman, simply because she had no car.
These unfair-seeming scenarios occur everyday, and it has come to stay.
And as we put out our efforts to match the needs of the corporate world, may we never forget to also back it up with prayers.

Dear God, always give us our own, our poor level of packaging notwithstanding.

Sort:  

Congratulations ! You Got Upvote by Youth Club Community.

Support with delegation !

50, 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500, 3000, 4000, 5000

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43