When They Say The World Is Small

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

A man I gave a free lift in elelenwo area of Portharcourt in 2017, just saw me on the road this evening, and jumped out of his car.

"Brother me" he shouted, while coming close for a hug.
I could recognize the face, but didn't remember where we met. He was obviously a man of my familiar, so I allowed his extended arms to complete its intention of hugging.

FB_IMG_1618970476817.jpg

"Where do I know you from?" I asked.
"Hapu Oyibo nwanne(leave English brother) Na Pascal nah -- na Pasito!"
After hearing "Pasito," I remembered how I had picked an old woman, an elderly man, and a soaked young man, under the rain. I took a huge risk picking up strangers, but I had to subject myself to the biding of my instinct.

I remembered how he kept saying things like "nna Pasito atala ahuhu(Pasito has suffered)" He narrated a little about himself in a short while and we exchanged numbers. One troubling thing about his narration, was how he went from Grace to Grass -- the bank collected all he had.

We stopped talking when my phone was stolen in 2018, and from what he said today, his was also stolen.
Pascal dropped me at my destination this evening, and told me how things were getting better for him -- "Ife nafa agbanwe nwayo nwayo(things are changing small small)"

FB_IMG_1618970479933.jpg

I told him I was starting life afresh after some events. Even told him I sold the very car I carried him with, while we were trying to save my late brother. Pascal thought I was joking, but again; the fact that he saw me standing on the road should explain that it could be true. I even told him my second car is at the mechanic -- I can't afford to fix it now -- since he deals on American Spare parts.

We exchanged numbers again, and he told me to be strong. "Ife nile ya agbanwekwala yi -- jus gbawa mbo dika onweyi ife mebili(everything will change for you too -- just keep working hard as if nothing spoilt).
I still can't believe I saw him today, not to mention the state I saw him in.

I am once more reminded of the words of William Shakespeare:
"The evil that men do, lives after them."

This also means that the good men do, lives after them.
I did this years ago in PH, and got paid by a free lift today in Enugu. Who knows what will come out of this reunion? Maybe he was sent as a source of motivation. His appearance today, when compared to that year, is enough evidence never to lose hope.

FB_IMG_1618970482764.jpg

Never stop doing good, no matter how little.
May God bless us enough to be in a position to help others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28