The High School Story

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

…I became a master to my fellow student as they willingly ran errands for me especially during break period. I became a mentor and a consultant in my own class as I offered advice on how to solve class assignments.

199157655_529764625101743_7141129167038876949_n.jpg

Second term came and things became a little bit different. I noticed we had new students in my class; they were transferred to this campus because of proximity. I went closed to them to know the stuff they were made of. I didn’t want anyone to steal my shine by surprise.

They were happy to have me even come close to them, maybe they heard my story from other students or they read about me in major newspapers and magazines. I didn’t fancy their intending closeness; they were way behind me in terms of reasoning, but there was this girl among them, I couldn’t get my mind off her. She was lively and calm. Her charm seemed like a charm she used on me.

She was beautiful from the crown of her hair to the sole of her feet. She was fair in complexion and I think it complimented mine. I tried to be focus with my academics, but the thought of her made it look difficult. I knew I was the best student not just in the school but in the state with several awards to prove it, but I needed to win another prize. Making this girl my girlfriend was a new challenge to me, it was an award I needed to win. I didn’t imagine it to be a tough challenge though as most of the girls in the school were wishing and praying to have me talk to them. I thought this girl won’t be anything different from them.

I decided to kill my fears, summoned courage to let her know how I felt about her during break period. I sent a student to help me get her ice-cream and snack, my courage was not courageous enough to do it. I waited and hoped she would come to me to at least say a thank you. Alas! She did came, the aura of her presence almost made me pee on my body. “I saw the ice-cream, meat pie and biscuits you bought for me, thank you very much”, she appreciated. My day was made; it was just two of us. I told her it was nothing that that was just a way of me welcoming her to APEX High school.

199998619_529764345101771_8175108995716280927_n.jpg

I couldn’t strike a meaningful conversation as my wooing lines were truncated by the sound of the bell, break period was over. We hurriedly left and went straight to the class. Throughout the classes, I couldn’t take my eyes off her; my neck was always rotating just to gaze at her oblong face, bright eyes and tempting lips. My attention was on the closing sound of the bell that would make me be with my new class mate, her thought was really driving me crazy.

The bell rang and my eyes started hovering round the school just to see and be with her. I saw her, she was holding hands with Emeka and they were smiling at each other. Emeka was the social prefect of the school. He was every ladies man with tempting biceps and triceps. I wished I was in Emeka’s position at that moment holding hands with this girl; I would have had a sweet sleep. So many things crossed my mind and I didn’t want to believe Emeka was her boyfriend. I have always been a curious guy and I wasn’t afraid of anybody in the school.

I walked up to them to announce my presence and know what was up with both of them. “Emeka how far”, I greeted. “Scholar I dey. How your side na?” He asked. “Meet my friend Zainab, my girlfriend”, he introduced her to me. “Zainab meet the scholastic and baddest guy in this school”, he introduced me to her. She stretched her hand to shake me and I felt fever running through my hands and nails. “He’s a nice and generous guy”, Zainab told Emeka. “Emeka the social man, na man you be, we go see tomorrow na”, I hailed him and we parted ways.

My flare for academics absolved water, I was losing it. The thought of losing Zainab was making me lose weight. “I can’t allow anybody defeat me in any challenge, not even Emeka. This is a challenge I must win, Zainab has to be my award. I love Zainab and I would love her to be part of my life”, I pondered. I kept buying Zainab ice-cream and snack every break period until Emeka found out and warned her to stop collecting any gift from me. My hatred and love for Emeka and Zainab increased, respectively. I became frustrated; Zainab was not easily within my reach. “I have never had to struggle for things since I came to this school, why is getting Zainab a herculean task for” I imagined. I told myself I wasn’t going to give up, besides, Emeka would soon write his certificate examination and leave the school; by then, it will just be me and Zainab. That was my consolation.

199278376_529764398435099_2512731237026234579_n.jpg

At the end of the second term, result came out and I was the third best student. Aliu, one of the new students and Zainab came first and second, respectively. It was time to represent the school in a major competition, the school picked Aliu and Zainab. This was the first time since I came to this school that I didn’t have to represent my school in a major competition. So Zainab came to this school, not just to break my heart but to take my place. My feeling was encapsulated with jealousy, I have to fight back and restore my position in this school. I don’t play second fiddle to anyone, but I love Zainab….

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55