Steem Nigeria contest: the stranger I won't forget || organized by @prechyrukky.

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

Hello fellow steemians, am so excited to be part of this contest and share my experience with you all. I have always thought of life as a road and the people we travel this road with are very important. But they are times we meet people that we will never see again but leave a lasting impact in our lives.

764926_S.jpg
pixabay

One of this meet with a stranger happened in the dry heat of the January hamattan in the year 2007 in my village. The holidays were at an end and preparation for resumption of the school year were underway with the normal activities like going to the market and getting new books and new shoes and new socks and all that.

So that morning all that was left was the bags we were supposed to buy so my mom having already made a deal with her customer in the market told us all that was left to do was to take the money, pay and get the new bags. So me and my sisters were to go and make the errand so we took the money and set out.

We got to the market in the early hours of the day around 8am or 9am, then we got hopelessly lost we wandered around for 30 minutes or so then luckily we saw a man who redirected us in the right direction and we got what we came for and returned home. After that we arranged our things and prepared to travel back to school.

We boarded our bus and we began our journey after an hour or so in transit the bus jolted and swerved and I woke up to shouts and sounds of gunshots. I was shaken with fear because I had never heard gunshots so close before and I was frozen to my seat. Lucky my eldest sister was not so afflicted so she dragged me and my other sister out of bus as everybody else was doing the same.

Suddenly my eldest sister screamed and fell to the floor. I then saw she was bleeding from her thigh. I was so confused till someone dragged me up and told me to help move her. We quickly carried her and ran toward a car. We got in the car and the man drove away from the sounds of gunshots.

We got to the hospital before I had the presence of mind to look at the man's face and realize that it was the same man from the market who directed us. In the end my mother came to join us in the hospital and my sister recorvered but we were never able to get the man's name because he was in a hurry and we never saw him again.

Thank you for reading my post. #reality

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87