We Are The Odinas #8

in STEEM NIGERIA3 years ago

Buchi
Even before Mom told Chinedu to turn off the stove, before Arinze sauntered into the sitting room from our room where he had been taking a nap and made mom angrier with his cries, I knew that I was fucked. I had upset the balance in the family twice, the hammer was set to fall, and I was going to be blown into a million tiny pieces.

166832722_3772472929538491_7378352319766356316_n.jpg

I looked at Mom from where I stood, arms folded, wrapper tied snuggly and face set in a deep frown. She couldn't wait to get her hands on me. I imagine that she was just about to start towards me when dad reappeared and took his seat.
"Mama Chinedu, come and seat down." He said.

It was then that I realized that I wasn't as fucked as I could be. Surely, this was bad, but suddenly the prospects lighted up. Dad was obviously not as angry as mom was, and in him, I now had a possible ally. I had to appeal to him to get on my side to forestall the forthcoming mother hen thrashing.

"Daddy..." I fell on my knees. It's important that this apology look sincere and out of the ordinary. "I am sorry. It was the devil..."

"Udene vuru okpo gi! May the vultures carry your hat. Don't you call the devil, otherwise I descend on you with vengeance. O bu so devil, ma lucifer." Mom growled.

I shuddered. I couldn't help it. Eleven years of hearing this kind of threat hasn't done anything to make them less effective. I knew that if mom got her hands on me, she would tear me from limb to limb. So I shut up and bowed my head in shame.

"Uche, come and seat down." Dad repeated. This time, mom adhered. She went over to the sofa, sat down and founded her arms again.

When they were both seated, they looked at me. Actually, their looks bore through me. Their eyes drilled holes into me, searching my soul, inquiring for a logical answer as to why I had done this.
"Why?" Dad asked.

166859812_3770802016372249_1774753410773343563_n.jpg

A simple question, maybe, but it had such a complex answer. Okay, maybe not so complex, but I had dreaded the question. I didn't want to tell them. They will be mad! Dad would be disappointed again. Mom would get even more angry that I had stolen for such reason.

So it occurred to me to lie. I think that's what anybody would have done. And I really did want to lie. See, it might have been unpleasant, but a perfectly cooked lie would get me a lesser punishment. And they would never find out why I really did steal.

But I saw the soft look on Dad's face. Those black pools held love and promised understanding. So I told the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

"I made the basketball team. Coach told us that we need to pay One Thousand Naira for the wears. I couldn't tell you because you were already broke and I had pissed you off yesterday.

"Honestly, I didn't intend to steal from her. I was just there to buy what mom told me to. But then she left the shop, and she was taking so long. And I saw the money box, so I took it. It was like a miracle, like God had kept it there for me."
"Mechie onu! Shut up your mouth! Which God? The God that I serve doesn't send his children to steal." Mom barked.
"But mummy, God works in mysterious ways!"

"Didn't I tell you to shut up? If I hear 'pim' from your mouth again I will smack it shut."
"Onyebuchi, do you even realize what you have done? Besides the fact that you angered your mother and I, you have given yourself a bad reputation. As long as that woman is concerned, you are a thief. You have brought bad name to our family." Dad leaned out from the chair, his elbows on his knees.

"Dad-daddy, I don't care."
"But you should care! I do care! If something misses in any place you can be connected to, she will suspect you. In fact, if any bad thing happens, she and everyone else she tells will they suspect you and accuse you. She will tell her friends that our family is filled with thrives and liars and deviants. These people won't care about why you stole or whether you didn't steal all the money. All they will care about is that you are a thief, believing what she tells them.

166553767_3768001869985597_4913623499959613777_n.jpg

"Son, life isn't all about making decision as they concern us in the moment. It isn't good to make selfish decision, no matter how good they might seem. We have taught you the difference between good and bad. And under no circumstance are you allowed to consciously make the wrong choice. If you do, it will be more of a reason for Karma to come back and bite you from behind wen you least expect it.

"This is a first time offense, so I am going to pardon you. However, I am withholding your lunch money for two weeks. And you will solely be in charge of fetching water during this period. I will give you the money tomorrow, but you have to agree that if this happens again, I will let your mother tear into you."

Mom had a 'are-you-serious?' look on her face. I think she was expecting some belt lashing that would leave my backside warm. "Magnus, is that all you are going to say? Ogwucha go?"
"Yes, Uche. Buchi, go and get on with the chore."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67918.33
ETH 3740.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69