The job interview

in Tales & stories3 years ago

"When can you start," the job interviewer asked, "tomorrow?"

I couldn't believe my ears. After four years being jobless and at least ten interviews a month I had a job. I smiled, thanked the man and once outside I laughed and couldn't stop laughing. My heart sang, I did and the world smiled at me. People greeted me and I salute to each one of them.
I stopped at the bakery and looked at the window. I would treat me! Not today but tomorrow. I ordered the largest chocolate pie I could find and continued my way.
I would never forget this day.

Only five minutes away from home my phone buzzed "April's fool," the text said,"you don't get the job."

woman-6620873__480.webp

--------------------------------- + ---------------------------------

See: @freewritehouse for the contest and photo
#pic1000
Link: https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@freewritehouse/contest-a-picture-is-worth-a-thousand-words-11-12-2021

Sort:  

At least you have chocolate pie 😋
Thanks for joining us 👍

That doesn't only feels like a bad joke but is one. April 1st is not my day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64