Today is the best day of my life

The picture... there it was out of the blue. I had cherished it, carried it around with me hidden in my favourite book. A memory of the past. A good past that had turned its back to me. All of a sudden the good days, my good days were over.

As a young child I had tried to help my mother, understand her and it had taken me years to realize a child's brain is not as developed as an adult's. My mother dumped me amd I never heard of her again. I had lost the battle and myself.

This photo had been my last try to cling to a good memory. A memory I called the best day of my life. That day... It was more like an hour or most likely twenty minutes. Later, much later I understood the day hadn't ended good, at least not for auntie.

At those rare moments she visited me she tried to make me smile. The lonely child that always seemed to be lost not able to play. Instead of me she played and fascinated me with her stories and games.
Bubbles made out of soap she blew into the air while she held my hand. Their size and the fact they captured the rainbow inside made me smile.

Carefully I picked up the photo and studied it. It was the same photo but also different. This one looked brighter, newer and the bubbles were coloured. I held the picture closer to my face. At the time this photo was taken colourful photos didn't exist. I sank into my armchair and studied the once so familiar face. In my memory she had never grown old although I had.

"You'll always be in my mind little Boy," were the last words she said as she hugged me tightly.
Her words had kept me alive. Her words and the hope she would visit me again but auntie never returned to the orphanage. On her way back home she was attacked and killed. They found her with a knife in her back.

The photo of her and me arrived at my first birthday without her. It showed the best day of my life and today, almost 75 years later it still was. For many years I felt such a bitterness about her death being the best day of my life. It made me angry, her leaving me did but today...
Tears dripped on the photo. I no longer felt angry or lost. Perhaps I had given up on happiness because of her but at least she had given me the best day of my life. I felt tired of fighting, life and as I closed my eyes I saw her. "I've been waiting for you," she smiled, "you were always in my mind Boy." She took my hand and the only thought left was: I was wrong Today is the best day of my life.


mother-2935723__480.webpsource

Rules

  • Describe what you see
  • Describe what you feel
  • Write a story or poem about what you think is going on in this photo
  • Use #pic1000

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78