Alone and Hungry: My election 2022 experience

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago

Hello dear steemit friends, how are you all?
Finally, I am again able to make a post here and today's post will be about my experience in the May 9, 2022 elections.

IMG_20220509_164643.jpg

Many had already posted about their experience and here I am, late in posting again.

So here is what happened. A week before the elections, our boss had said that we are not allowed to make a whole day absence or, undertime or half-day duty may do. And as a very good employee, char just self-proclaimed, I did report for duty on Monday. Not because I am a good employee but I do need money to compensate for our financial needs. besides, the voting hours are up to 7 pm and I assumed that there will be lots of people that will be inline in the morning.

IMG_20220509_084550.jpg

IMG_20220509_102552.jpg
We had a light rain in the morning and I was a bit worried because my umbrella went missing, I cannot remember who had borrowed it and never returned. Here are the shots of my favorite view, the top of Mount Kitanglad. I took this while I was going to the store to buy cookies for my breakfast.

IMG_20220509_120124.jpg

I took a selfie inside the office, I am alone but it's okay. I had a wonderful time celebrating solitude. I did not do any office work but instead, I tried and failed to write and post a blog here, I had lots of distractions, I had yarns waving for me to crochet them up and my pencils for drawing.

Drawing indeed won! Here is what I did. I tried to draw my face but since it has been a long since I draw, I forgot, and well here it is, I have drawn a face that does not look like me. To tell you frankly, my drawing looks better in person than what is captured here.

IMG_20220509_123257.jpg

IMG_20220509_125421.jpg
It does not look like much but at least I made it look like a three-dimensional piece.

The store outside has very salty food so I decided to skip my lunch and do it at the school. I planned on going out at three pm but I got so hungry that my legs felt weak. The 3 pm plan became 2 pm. I waited for something to ride on but I had no luck, There are no passenger vehicles on the road, and waited there for about 20 minutes. Good thing that a co-worker of mine is about to go home and going in that direction that needs to go. I hitched a ride but dropped me halfway.

IMG_20220509_142151.jpg

I was dropped in the provincial quarantine area and I was very blessed that his habal-habal asked if I needed a ride. I said yes and charged me 20 pesos. His motorcycle has an umbrella installed, and it is so cool.

IMG_20220509_142157.jpg
I arrived at the elementary school, I looked for my husband instead of looking for the room that I am assigned. I searched all the way but did not see him. I tried calling but he cannot be reached. I texted him and at last, he called. He was in the barangay hall with the barangay captain and he said he would be going to see me so that we will be able to vote together.

Her are some views of the school. Some precints has a very long queue of voters whiel some has only few.

IMG_20220509_142919.jpg

IMG_20220509_142725.jpg

Here used to be our flag pole in my elementary days. I love this school because it held lots of my childhood memories here. Some of the teachers do not recognize me anymore.

IMG_20220509_142956.jpg

I took this selfie while waiting for my husband; he went past me, he did not recognize me, and went straight to his barangay health worker to ask for a facemask. I had to shout and call him before he saw me.

IMG_20220509_144045.jpg

I asked him for food because I am really hungry, I was hoping to eat rice but it is not available; I bought a hotdog instead.
It's not that much but it is better than nothing, it's my fault though. So I was filled and I had a man after that. I only had water and we both got ready to wait in line.

This could be part one of my experience, I hope to share more of it tomorrow, I need to go home but I promise to keep in touch soon. Keep safe.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

mau man d ay ka mo draw sis...

 2 years ago 

Liwat nimo Jean (:

 2 years ago 

Hello, this post has been chosen to be recommended for booming support today. Continue creating high-quality content here at Steemit Philippines Community.

Congratulations!

Mindanao Moderator
@long888

 2 years ago 

maraming salamt po, sir Long

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77