Steemit Philippines - Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 (Week 4) || "Famous Street Foods in your Place"

Hello Everyone!
I hope you are doing well...

"Street food" is something that we all love. Street foods make us forget all health concerns. In Sri Lanka, there are various types of street foods. You can easily find these street food stalls near film halls, beaches, walking paths, and wine stores. Usually, street foods are cheap when compared with restaurant prices and have a tempting taste. Trying out street food with family or friends is a great way to enjoy your time.

In the city where I live, there are very few street food shops available. But in Colombo, there are separate places where a variety of street foods are available. You can try various types of food like Sandwiches, Roti, buns, desserts, hoppers, string hoppers, Kottu, Prawn wade, and fruit juices. It is really fun to visit when street food festivals are organized. There we can try a variety of street foods which are extremely delicious and looks yummy.

2.png

Today I will be sharing two street food spots that are very close to my home. I try these very often for a change. We go to the walking path to spend some time relaxing. Having orange juice and a pickle makes our evening much better and memorable. Personally, I avoid trying street foods due to health concerns but these two street food shops are irresistible.

image.png

Street juice shop decorated creatively with orange peel

On a scorching hot summer day, this street juice shop really helps me to quench my thirst for something icy and refreshing. What makes it popular all over the country is, It is a fruit commonly available and has the ability to be refreshed instantly.

image.png

The cleanliness of this street vendor is excellent as he does not use his hands at all. The stencils and glasses are well-cleaned. Before he used to sell several other fruit juices but today only the sour oranges (Abul Dosdam) were to be seen.

I have had a close look at the procedure of making sour orange juice so fast.

Ingredients Needed:

Sour Orange

Water (Sugar and salt mixed)

Ice

Let's see how Sour Orange Juice is made so fast in Steet juice shops

  • First he peals off the skin of oranges and stores it in a basket.

  • Once a customer places an order, He picks an orange and then cuts it into halves.

  • Then he put pulls out the freshly squeezed orange juice into a glass.

  • Next he adds the cold water which has been mixed with salt and sugar.

  • Lastly he gives a good shake to the orange juice and adds some ice.

  • Before serving he removes all seeds with the help of a spoon and hands over the glass with a straw.

image.png

This juice is very fresh and tastes good. The sugar and salt taste is perfect it is not too sweet or salty. It has the right amount of sugar and salt added.

image.png

Glass of Sour Orange juice cost me:

Itemprice in LKRprice in Steem
Orange Juice1502.185

image.png

Right on the opposite side of the road, there was a lady selling pickles. These pickles are the yummiest pickles that I have ever tried. There are a variety of pickles made of different fruits. The pickles are pre-made and displayed in separate containers. Each has a unique taste and color. Rather than having oily street foods, I try these types of street foods without any hesitation.

image.png

These pickles are full of flavors. I bought a mix of pickles, It was mouth-watering! This is why it is a popular street food among Sri Lankans. It has all the flavors which satisfy anyone's tastebuds. It is very appetizing and can try it any time of the day.

Ingredients needed to make pickles

Tropical Fruits like Unriped Mango, Amberalla, Wood apples, Srilankan Olives, and Gooseberry

A mixture of vinegar, Sugar, and Sat

Chilli powder and chili flakes to add spiciness

The procedure of making pickles

  • Fruits like mango, Amberalla, and wood apples can be used raw but Sri Lankan Olives and gooseberries need to be pre-boiled in salt water.

  • Chop the fruits into small pieces, Olives and gooseberries can be taken as it Is.

  • On a pan make a mixture of Vinegar, Sugar, salt, Chili powder, and chili flakes.

  • Add the fruits to the mixture

  • Mix well until the fruit absorbs the mixture and is well combined.

image.png

I bought a mixture of all pickles available

One small cup of pickles cost me:

Itemprice in LKRprice in Steem
Mixture of pickles2002.984

image.png

This is how we enjoyed our cup of pickles

It is well served in a small container with plastic spoons and toothpicks which makes it easy to carry and eat without any trouble.


These are the street foods available in my place. I really enjoyed both of the street food stalls. The juice was very refreshing on a hot day like today. We enjoyed the drink with a nice view of the lake. The pickles were also amazing and the taste really made me speechless. Both of the food products were worth the money. We are glad that we could help these street food vendors by trying out their food products.

I conclude my participation by inviting @hasini @nadiaturrina and @dasudi

Sort:  

pickles are my favourite too....

Ohh really? That's great to hear!!! 😊

It is lovely to see your little one trying to eat pickles 😘 I wonder what his face looks when he tasted it!

Haha he loved it so much! He anyway loves to eat sour and this pickle had all flavours... He was amazed and wanted more and more 😁

I guess people in Sri Lanka are as food lovers as we in India. I had been to Sri Lanka once for two days but I was so busy in my official meetings so I could not find for street food.

I love the way you have done efforts in this post and enjoying your food. My best wishes. By the way, I have no post in this contest but just reading random posts.

Yes, we are...! Very much!
Ohh that's great to hear! I hope you will have some time to try out Sri Lankan foods in your next visit 😊

I'm glad that you visited my post randomly... Have a great day!

𝕮𝖔𝖓𝖌𝖗𝖆𝖙𝖚𝖑𝖆𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓𝖘 𝖄𝖔𝖚𝖗 𝓹𝓸𝓼𝓽 𝓱𝓪𝓼 𝓫𝓮𝓮𝓷 𝓾𝓹𝓿𝓸𝓽𝓮𝓭
by @dove11 For 𝐒𝐭𝐞𝐞𝐦𝐅𝐢𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧✍

Screenshot (85)123.png
Join- HERE

 last year 

Date Evaluated: March 24, 2023

CategoryRemarks
#steemexclusive
At least Club5050✅ (100)
Voting CSI4.7
Plagiarism Free
ChatGPT Generated Content Free✅ Highly likely to be Human!
Bot-Free
No. Of words867 Words
Support #burnsteem25
RATING8.6

Feedback:

Thank you for creating quality content in the 4th Week of our Steemit Philippines Engagement Challenge. Please don't forget to do engagement by replying to the comments in your posts and do comments on other posts too.

-Admin/CR-Philippines-

@loloy2020

Thank you for the verification! I'm working on to increase my engagement 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30