Steemit engagement challenge season 8 week 1: The power of social media

AddText_02-27-11.17.37.pngdesigned on text app, image source

Hello friends,

They often say the beginning of a thing is very important. Today, am super happy that season 8 of Steemit engagement challenge just began. This is week 1 and this is my first engagement for the season.


The theme we have at hand for this week is a very interesting one that must be talked about and that is why I have taken it upon myself to pen down my thoughts about the theme.


Social media is a very important sphere and it has influenced mankind in no small way. The power of social media can not be overemphasize. What then is social media?


Social media compromise of two words. Social and media. The word social from my perspective simply means a place or community designed for companion. While the word media simply means a place for communication or interaction. To sum it all, social media simply means a place where we communicate or interact with each other passing and receiving information of all kinds which finally makes us a companion of that sphere.


There are several forms of social media, before we had the internet sphere of social media. We viewed social media as television, radio and even news papers but today every thing has changed, we have the Facebook, we have steemit, we have Twitter, we YouTube, we Instagram and a whole lots of others.


I got involved with social media back when I was 16 year old. And I remember the first social media I got an account for was Facebook. Even though that particular account was recently hacked so I had to open another one just this year.


It's been year now since I got involved with social media and I can tell you for free that my experience has been amazing combined with the good and bad influence. Let me share with you one of the bad experience I had with social media.


During the year 2020 we had the break out of COVID 19 in my country, our country was in total lockdown. Alot of citizens were suffering and looking for means to survive. I saw an advert on Facebook about a particular investment. I got interested. the long and shot story is that I was scammed. You see that if I didn't have a Facebook account I wouldn't have seen that advert and gotten scammed.


Now the good experience of it is that I have taken alot of online courses without physically reporting to the country or a lecturer or a class room. I have also met great friends on social media. For instance I met one of my best friends on steemit. Have you seen that social media has both negative and positive side which I have experienced both.


In my opinion, the right age for people to have access to social media will be age 15 with some guidance. I have my reasons and I will tell you. Someone may say age 15 is too small for a child to be exposed to the world but listen, there are great men and women who started at a young age. There are lots of opportunities, learning and great experience on social media, so the earlier a child gets exposed to it the better. The child can even learn a good skill on social media and develop it to become great.


The child exposed at age 15 needs some guidance because of some of the negative sides of social media but not withstanding it is good. As a fisher man, You won't say because water drowns people you won't go and fish right?


Well I do not have much to say to people who can no longer manage their social media accounts. Sometimes this may happen because of how busy they have become. I know a celebrity who does not manage his account. He pays some social influences to do the job, allowing him face other business. But I think from time to time, this people should check their account to monitor how their accounts is ran.


  • In managing accounts one of the vital things you should look out for is the security of the account. Like I stated above that my Facebook was hacked. I lost everything and had to open a new one. This happened because I didn't do some needed security verification like 4 steps verification. So make sure you proper secure your account.

  • Secondly, learn to back up some vital information you have on your social media accounts just Incase. .

  • Keep passwords personal and don't share with people. Save password in places that are safe.

  • Do not use devices that are not yours and not safe to login to your accounts. I had a friend who went to a cyber cafe to use their system. After using their system to login to this Facebook two days later, two days later it was hacked and when it was traced, the cyber cafe surfaced.

Believe me when I tell you that the advent of social media has transformed lives, at the same time it has contributed to so many bad things. Recently I watched a Nigerian movie titled "bad comment" the movie x-ray how a movie celebrity was brought to his fall because of the social media. In the movie people turned against him through their bad comments.


The future of social media is going to be both good and evil. For the evil side, if caution and proper sensitization is not carried out amongst the youth of the nation across the world, things might go bad. More than 80% of people who are on social media are young people. For the good side, the world will become a global village in the near future. Where things become at your disposal. Infact I even see physical education going into extinction. Students will have to go online to have their courses from the comfort of their homes without supervision.

Personally I see a future of easy!!


Over here in Nigeria where I come from, social media has been taken as business I mean most people has put their business online. They do not even have physical stores or shops. You find most young Nigerians on Instagram. For Instagram 70% of young Nigerians are on Instagram.


But an average Nigerian is on Facebook. So it's safe to say Facebook is the most commonly used app in Nigeria. I also noticed that Nigerians love YouTube too. I mean there is so much to learn on YouTube. 90% of young Nigerians are on Facebook while 80% are in YouTube.


Recently, I found out that TikTok is another app that young Nigerians have gotten interested in for the past 3years now. 50% of Nigeria youths are on TikTok.

Finally there are alot of Nigerians that are not on steemit either because they have not heard or they have heard but have no interest in it. This means that only 10% of young Nigerians are on steemit.


Conclusion

I love social media and am glad I am enjoying my stay on social media especially steemit. Atleast for me, steemit has exposed me to lots of opportunities and learning and transformed my life.

The power of social media is vivid. Social media has given voice to the voiceless and improved lives, I chose to see the good side of social media.

Thank you for reading and before I go, I want to invite my friends to join this contest. @lhorgic @josepha @mile16

Sort:  

Nice to hear you dear, You describe it very beautiful and you're right that the social media compromise of two words and you disscus it very beautifully. And the age 15 is suitable for kids to used thses networks. Overall you describe it very well detailed. Thanks for sharing this. I am wishing you best of luck dear friend ❣️.

Thank you for your wishes sir.

Am glad you like my school of thought about this Topic.

My Pleasure dear 🤗

You have explained your text so well. The social media is a blessing I disguise and also a tool of mass distraction. I wish you success in the challenge #steem-on

Social media is a means by which we can reach out to each other very quickly. I am so happy to hear that you have learned so much from using social media. Thank you for inviting me, and best of luck to you!

I look forward to your entry sir.

I just imagine what life would be without socal media.

You can have made concrete points @ruthjoe. Social media has both its good and bad vices, but the bad outweights the good if not properly checked. Like you said, 15 years is okay to be on social media but if not closely checked can expose the teenager the dark side of the social media. Goodluck in the contest.

Thank you very much for your support.

 2 years ago 

Date Evaluated: February 27, 2023

CategoryRemarks
#steemexclusive
At least Club5050
Plagiarism Free
Bot-Free
No. Of words1,226
Voting CSI7.6 ( 0.00 % self, 60 upvotes, 40 accounts, last 7d )
Support #burnsteem25
RATING9.0

Thank you for creating quality content in the first Steemit Philippines Engagement Challenge. Please don't forget to do engagement by replying to the comments in your posts and do comments on other posts too.

-Admin/CR-Philippines-
@juichi

Thank you so much for finding time to review my entry.

Your post has been supported by @simonnwigwe from Team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 40%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.

Voting date: 27/02/2023

image.png

Am so grateful for your support
@simonnwigwe

I wish you luck in this SEC...🤲🤗

Thank you for your wishes..

You are welcome..🤗

It's interesting to hear about your experiences with social media and how it has both positive and negative effects. You make a good point that social media can provide opportunities for learning and skill development, but it's important to be cautious and aware of the potential dangers such as scams and hacking. It's also important to keep personal information secure and to monitor how your account is being managed, even if you have someone else helping you with it. It's clear that social media has transformed our lives in many ways and will continue to do so in the future.

Yes you are correct, that's exactly what I said. Social media has both negative sides and positive side. For me, I ha e chosen to see only positive side..

Thank you for your thoughts

Good to see your entry for this contest dear. You have spoken extensively about the topic and your perspective to it is apt. Social media is indeed a blessing but then we must be careful not to abuse it. Thanks for the invite. I've gotten the motivation needed to make an entry as well.😀

Hahaha! Am glad you got motivation boss. I wait for your entry

The power of social media cannot be over emphasized.
Like you said, social media has given voice to the voiceless and at the same time improved lots of lives.
Nice and quality content you got here.
Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67