Places to Visit in Cebu City | The City Where I Live

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Community!

How are ya all??

Today I will share to you the places that you may want to write in your bucket list. Or maybe some of you have already visited.

I currently reside in the the Queen City of the South, Cebu City!! And there are beautiful and historical places just within the City. The photos I used for this post are mine because I've been to these places before. I don't want to be a stranger to my own city so I visited these places with family and friends.

Fort San Pedro

It is a military defense structure in Cebu (Philippines), built by the Spanish under the command of Miguel López de Legazpi, first governor of the Captaincy General of the Philippines. It is located in the area now called Plaza Indepedencia, in the pier area of the city. The original fort was made of wood and built after the arrival of Legazpi and his expedition. In the early 17th century a stone fort was built to repel Muslim raiders. Today's structure dates from 1738 and is the oldest triangular bastion fort in the country. It served as the nucleus of the first Spanish settlement in the Philippines. During the Philippine Revolution at the end of the 19th century, it was attacked and taken by Filipino revolutionaries, who used it as a stronghold. source

I've been here many times. And we actually had our Pre-nuptial photos taken inside Fort San Pedro.

Below are the photos taken there during and after the pre-nup shoot. We did a DIY shoot with our close friends.

fortsanPedro.jpg

fortSanpedro1.jpg

Magellan's Cross

It is a Christian cross planted by explorers of the Spanish expedition of the first circumnavigation of the world, leaded by Ferdinand Magellan, upon arriving in Cebu in the Philippines on April 21, 1521. This cross is housed in a chapel next to the Basilica del Santo Niño on Magallanes Street, just in front of Cebu City's center. A sign below the cross states that the original cross is encased inside the wooden cross made of tindalo wood. This is to protect the original cross from people who chipped away parts of the cross for souvenir purposes in the belief that the cross possesses miraculous powers.[3] Some people, however, believe that the original cross has been destroyed or disappeared after Magellan's death and the cross is a replica that was planted there by the Spaniards after they successfully christianized the Philippines. source.

magellansCross.jpg
Me with my Mother-in-law and daughter. We toured her in Cebu during her visit last 2015.

I've been here many times too with friends as well.

Cebu Toaist Temple

Cebu Toaist Temple is a Taoist temple located in Beverly Hills Subdivision of Cebu City, Philippines. The temple is built by Cebu's substantial Chinese community in 1972. With an elevation of 110 metres (360 ft) above sea level, the temple is a towering, multi-tiered, multi-hued attraction accessible by three separate winding routes. source

taoist_temple.jpg
Me with a former officemate.

taoist.jpg

When our friends come to see Cebu, if we had the chance, we will take them for a tour around the city and see these places. Places they probably see in photos. The last place for this write up is TOPS, though there are other places still like Temple of Lea or Sirao. Lately, our family went swimming at Mountain View Nature's Park.

TOPS - Cebu

High above Busay Hills (around 15-20 minutes) drive from JY Square in Lahug, TOPS offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island.

The cool mountain air is also a welcome respite from the heat in the city. It is best to visit TOPS early morning or late afternoon and on sunny days in order to get the best views.

There are snack stalls inside Tops, as well as stone tables and chairs. Entrance fees are PhP100 per person. Source

tops.jpg
Me With Friends at TOPS Cebu.

tops1.jpg
Sunrise view from Tops.

So there you go! These are the places you may want to visit if you happen to drop by Cebu City. I've loved Cebu since I came in 2007. I am originally from Negros Oriental, another beautiful province.

I hope you enjoyed my photos LOL. I placed the links if you wanted to see a detailed read about these places.

Until Next time! This is my entry for sir @long888 Write About Your Province and Win a total of 25 STEEM| Blog Writing Contest - 02

Love,

@me2selah

steemitachievers.gif
Gif by @junebride.

me2selah.gif
Gif by @baa.steemit.

161582037_1803417236494825_2926331380855676194_n (1).png
Footer by @kennyroy.

#steemit
#zzan

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Cebu Cebu Cebu! pagka anindot gayud sa Cebu!
Ganda ng post mo sis. I love it. Namiss na hinuon nako dinha. There is no place like home jud uy...... Your jump shot is so joyous to look at sis. I remembered going to Tops when I was in High School that was a long time ago... haha. I wish soon, my family and I can visit Cebu because hubby has never been there yet. Only Angelo, 6 or 7 years ago.
I miss everything in Cebu.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99