The Pain of Social Rejection

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago

Hello, Steemit Philippines! To my fellow community members, welcome to my blog. I am here to present my dangerous encounter of social rejection and how I eventually got through it.

IMG_20220519_101125.jpg

When I was in elementary school, I was bullied for being too skinny and was taunted that my family wasn’t taking care of me. The group of people who bullied me made hurtful comments, and compared being thin to experiencing anorexia. I was not anorexic, and I don't like it when people tell me that I am. It's never right to body shame. Thinking back then, I was not even underweight but I had thin frame and I’m the tallest in my class.

Growing up I was dissatisfied with my body image. Those hurtful words and insults made me feel insecure about myself. I become fixated on trying to change my body shape, which lead to unhealthy practices with food and exercise. These practices result in intense feelings of disappointment and shame; I was vulnerable to the negative impact of weight-related bullying.

CamScanner 05-19-2022 10.08_2.jpg

The trend for "fat acceptance" is the recognition that bodies, particularly larger ones, are inherently worthy. But I think it's important that skinny shaming is as worse as fat shaming. The body positivity is not inclusive, it only lead to a mainstream fat acceptance and most often skinny-shaming is not seen as an issue at all. While media is starting to include people of all sizes, it might seem like being thin is a privilege, but it’s definitely not. The society that shames people for being fat, derides people for being skinny too.

Body-shaming is a form of bullying and it manifests in many ways. It often leads to comparison and perpetuates the idea that people should be judged mainly for their physical features. I believe bullies bully because contrary to the popular notion that bullies are superior, deeper than that are feelings of insecurity and low self-esteem. Bullies pick on others because it takes the focus off of themselves. But they’re actually envious of their victims. This is how I dealt with bullies all these years. I think of them as persons who need help, more than anything. The most important thing is that I never lose myself or deserted my appearance in any way. The problem is not me, but society's refusal to appreciate certain body types.

That's my story. I hope to inspire you to live unapologetically. Let this year be the year of self-care and treating yourself better!

I want to invite @nanidi, @leemsn, @rabea500 and @emma2022 to post an entry. Here's the link https://steemit.com/hive-169461/@steemitphcurator/steemit-philippines-contest-or-a-dangerous-encounter

20% to @steemitphcurator

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Congratulations!

Your post is recommended for booming support today. Continue creating quality content here at Steemit Philippines Community.

Verification result:

Verified userYes
Plagiarism-freeYes
Bot-freeYes
#steemexclusiveYes
#club status#club100
Beneficiary20% to @steemitphcurator
Words used431

Maraming salamat po.🙂
@long888, mod

 2 years ago 

Thank you po!

 2 years ago 

I totally agree with you. Until now, nakakaexperience pa rin ako ng ganyan. Before, sinasabihan akong anorexic, the same as you, kasi super skinny eh. Jeans ko sa grade 6 to 2nd year hs, kasya pa until 5th year college. Pero noong nagwork na ako, pagkauwi ko, sinabihan akong mataba, siguro buntis or kakaanak lang. Kaya mas mabuti pang hindi magpakita sa mga ganyang tao. Let's surround ourselves with positivity.

 2 years ago 

True. People will always have their opinions. Kaya I stopped caring what they think, especially ngayon na magulang na ako at maraming physical changes. To body positivity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57617.33
ETH 3012.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39