Chasing the Thieves

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago (edited)

photo_2022-05-19_15-42-28.jpg

The moment I read the contest post, my experience in July 2018 immediately popped through my head. I experienced war five times, but I'm not a soldier, so I'm guessing it cannot be considered an encounter.

Storytime...


It took me months to be convinced by my colleagues and also to convince myself that I need a phone. My phone before was Nokia 1100 with a non-functional space bar and a body wrapped in scotch tape. I was in my second year of working gal, and hadn't bought a phone yet.

So whenever I replied to a text message, it looks like this:

Hello!Good.morning.I.am.still.at.home.Will.be.there.in.an.hour.

My family hadn't started yet the bakery at that time, so it was just me, as the breadwinner. I can't afford to buy a phone in full cash, so I decided to avail the Globe Postpaid promos. That was when I had my Huawei P10 plus a Globe sim and the call, text, and data promo.

With my new phone, I no longer borrowed a phone from my colleague to take a photo. I joined Steemit in October 2017, and my phone was very useful and convenient since my home is a 45-min drive from the university I was working. Aside from that, I had to wait for the bus for an hour or more. By the time I arrived home, I'm already done drafting my blog.

My routine before was home - work - gym - home. On July 5, 2018, after clocking out to work, I went straight to the fitness gym. It was past 8 PM when I finished working out, and my boyfriend was waiting for me near the university. While riding a jeepney, I busied myself drafting a blog on my phone.

A few minutes later, three teenagers rode and were beside me. I blocked their view of my phone and also lowered it down, just in case they were a thief. I messaged Antoni that I'm near already, just a few meters away from my drop-off. As I hit the send button, the tall boy grabbed the phone and the three of them jumped off the jeepney. I was still in an adrenaline rush from the workout so I jumped off, too, and chased them. I ran as fast as I could, hoping there were police on duty since it happened in front of the university. Unfortunately, there was none, and the place was dark.

police-report.png

I forgot how dangerous it was, without even thinking that even if I will be able to catch them, they probably are carrying a knife. I was shouting but nobody helped. As they turned right, they ran to the creek that was only darkness. I did not cry. Everyone was just staring at me, and I was trembling with anger.

Then someone knew me by my face, so he approached me and asked what happened. That's when I started crying because my phone is one of my sources of income. I asked if I could borrow his phone to message my boyfriend. A Barangay Task Force came, asked questions, then announced in a walkie-talkie to block the possible exits from the creek. Also, a couple riding a motorcycle arrived and said they tried to follow the thieves who went to a certain barangay. We tried. The Barangay task force tried. But I decided to give up, and it's all up to God.

Antoni called my father to fetch me at the police station. I was crying until dawn. I was back to using my old Nokia with a sim, which has 10 GB of data, and the pictures I hadn't backed up yet. My mother kept comforting me that it was just a phone and I still can buy a new one.

photo_2022-05-19_15-42-31.jpg


My Huawei P10 now is from Antoni. He wanted to give the phone to me, but I insisted on paying him. He bought a new phone, and then he gave me his P10. Thanks to him, I was able to continue blogging and until now, it still serves me well.


This is my entry to the Steemit Philippines contest, and I'm inviting Auntie @olivia08, my friend @tomogiroe, and my sister @goiinmary to join the said contest.

• • •


kneelyrac.png

🌸 K N E E L Y R A C 🌸
InstagramTwitterGoodreads

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

urgh... makalagot dai.. kasuway ko ani but wala nila nakuha akong phone.. but nasamad jd ko kay naa ko sa front sa jeep, sa passengers seat then gibira akong phone. mas kusgan kos batan on so niletgo ra sya but nasamad akong bukton kay naipit sa pultahan...

 2 years ago 

kung naa guru tong holder nako sa phone dai, kanang isulod bitaw nimu tudlo, dili rajud to makawat. timing ato na gabiona, akoa gitangtang. walay casing ako phone pod.

Sus grabeha jud nila ba? sakita kaayu sa naipit dai ui

 2 years ago 

omg, so brave but deadly!
ayo na lang palangga kaayo ni bf dai ba, naka phone ug balik.. so siya na jud ang forever ba😉

 2 years ago 

mao lage, maam. palangga jud kaayu. naahat siyag commit pod na uban mi sa laag sa Samal Island para malingaw pod ko. hehe siya najud maam ui. hehe

 2 years ago 

Congratulations!

Your post is recommended for booming support today. Continue creating quality content here at Steemit Philippines Community.

Verification result:

Verified userYes
Plagiarism-freeYes
Bot-freeYes
#steemexclusiveYes
#club status#club100
Beneficiary20% to @steemitphcurator
Words used702

Maraming salamat po.🙂
@long888, mod

 2 years ago (edited)

Dire sa amo sa Davao kay pamatyon man tanan gakawat ug cp. Wala juy mangawat diria. Basta si DU30 peaceful gyud.

 2 years ago 

Peaceful jud bitaw Davao sir ai. Nakalaag ko dito, feeling safe jud kay ko.

 2 years ago 

Grabeha sis imo gyud gigukod? 😁 Thank God wa ra pud ka napahamak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64574.81
ETH 2639.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79