Steemit Philippines Photography Contest Week #6 - LIFE STORY - Share a Great Memory of a Deceased Loved One | "True Love"

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago
I kept pondering on such a memoir that highlights the love my Tatay Ano has for us, his grandchildren, but throughout our childhood, we never really had any special moment with him as far as my memory is concerned. Although my grandparents lived with us, it was not every day that we get to interact, they were not the most vocal.

Tatay Ano was a fisherman, he sleeps during the day and gets up early in the afternoon to prepare for sailing. He is always at the shore, so it was only when we were very young that he gets to spend time with us but when we began going to school, we were busy with studies, we get up early while he reaches home without us anymore. He goes to the shore by four in the afternoon and we were just on our way home. Every day, he was out to fish unless the weather is bad.

As mentioned in the first paragraph, I can't think of any special moment with him. Perhaps the one that I could remember was when I was bitten by a dog and he was there to help me with the bite, he did something, spit on my head, and surprisingly, I didn't get any rabies, nor a jab to keep rabies away. Later on, I learned it was what we refer to here in our province as "Tutho", they say my grandfather has some special skills which are why he never had encountered any serious illness throughout his life. On his deathbed, he was trying hard to give something to my cousins and brothers but they won't accept it, perhaps that's what our neighbors meant about his possession.

image.png

I made this digital scrapbook art a decade ago when both my nanay and tatay were still alive.

But and but, the only thing that I could think of right now is how he had displayed his love for my grandmother, Nanay Ceding even after her passing.

When Tatay Ano was already 95 years old, we always talk whenever I am at home. He had sharp memories and I wish I had that too but no, my mommy-brain is not that good. But he told me their love story and as he narrates it, I could feel how he truly loved my grandmother.

Nanay Ceding was way younger than Tatay Ano, he said when he was already studying, he always sees my Nanay playing as a child. So you can imagine how young my Nanay was.

But as time went by and Nanay became a lady, she worked as a restaurant server, he courted her and they got married.

The Beltran's, my nanay, uncle, my father, and tatay Ano
Tatay talks nonstop when I ask him about Nanay Ceding. I don't get to go home often as I was working in Cebu but whenever I am at home, he loves to talk about her. Our last conversation was about Nanay Ceding's miscarriages. He told me how hard it was for Nanay and he wished he was in her situation instead. All he could do was support her, follow the doctor's pieces of advice, and make sure that she regain her strength, he stopped fishing for some time just to attend to her, said that was the worse time of their marriage but thankfully, they had passed the storm.

But he said, the most painful and tragic one was when Nanay Ceding died on July 2, 2012. He was devastated resulting in his health drastically declining. However, he had aimed to reach 100 years old for his two sons as the government provides 100,000 PHP for anyone who reaches that age, he said that's the only thing that he could leave behind for his sons but he was short of three years. He died on November 25, 2017.

True love exists and I have seen it in my Tatay Ano. He left me with a lesson to always be with our spouse no matter what.



The photos below were taken during Tatay Ano's burial.

DSC06246 (2).jpg

Forever in our hearts and memories...

DSC06230 (2).jpg

Tatay Ano's niece, Auntie Corazon was very emotional during Tatay's wake and burial as she was close to Tatay.

DSC06234 (2).jpg

My brother and sister-in-law during the burial.

DSC06237 (2).jpg

Rest in peace 'tay Ano, we love you! Thank you for all that you did for our family!

I couldn't dare take the candids of my father and uncle during that time of sorrow, they were both ready as Tatay died of old age but it was still sad not being able to physically talk to tatay nor hug him.


20% of this payout goes to @steemitphcurator!

Inviting my friends to join the diary game too @g10a @jjeeppeerrxx @gecellbeltran



watermark.png

J U N E B R I D E
Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art
• • •


steemit.PNG


gif credits: @baa.steemit

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

image.png

 3 years ago 

Thank you dear

 3 years ago 

A true and pure love of lolo Ano. Ka sweet ni lolo Ano sissy oy. Ako sis wala nako ka abot sa akong mga lolo both side kay ika duha naman ko nga pamilya. I mean na balo na akong papa ug mama nya nag minyo sila kami na ang ilang mga anak hihihi. Naa sila una mga anak before nag minyo mao na maski bata pa me kaayo wala ko kita sa akong mga lolo both side.

Ka remember ko tuthoan pud me ni tatay(father) ug naa me pamation pud.

 3 years ago 

Awww! kasipag ni tatay Ano sis, all for his love to his family. Sayang hindi nakaabot si tatay sa ayuda na 100k if he reached 100 years old. Ok lang talagang ganun ang buhay natin hindi natin alam tlaga kelan tayo mag pass on. Masayang masaya na sila ngayon ni Lola Ceding, they are eternally happy na in the arms of our creator.
Ang sweet ni Tatay Ano even in his remaining days on earth He still talks fondly of his better half, meron tlagang forever!

 3 years ago 

hi ate.. karon pa ko kita s aimong comment.. yes, true love talaga..forever na forever...

 3 years ago 

haha, oks lang kay kahibalo man ko busy jud ang mommy Life uy!👍🤗

 3 years ago 

Judge: @juichi

Criteria for judgingRate 0-10
1. Relevance to the theme.9.8
2. Creativity.9.8
3. Technique.9.8
4. Overall impact.9.8
5. Story quality.9.8
Total Rating
 3 years ago 

wa nako naexperience sis kanang magdako na naay grandparents. Pero kana moments with your lolo and hearing him talk about his love story is precious.

 3 years ago 

thank you sis!

 3 years ago 

Good memories still last a lifetime.
Overall rating: 9.8

 3 years ago 

thanks fycee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47