Developed Feelings, From A Not-A-Boyfriend Material to Becoming a Husband

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago

This month is extra special not just because it is the heart or love month but because this is our wedding anniversary month plus, it’s my husband’s birth month too! With that, this month is filled with celebrations. The double celebration prompted me to share with you these three things about my husband and I’s relationship and I hope I won’t bore you with the story because I had shared this multiple times before in other blog articles. Here we go…

How did you and your partner meet?


It was the first day of school for the school year 2005-2006 in Cebu Institute of Technology University, I was excited to be at school, finally, I am a college student. I figured that my class is a block one which means, I will be seeing the same faces throughout the week, in all subjects. Back in the days, at the start of the school year, most professors would ask everyone to speak, one by one, we would introduce ourselves and tell the class our name and some trivia. It was also at that time that James introduced himself.

But it was not our first time seeing each other. We were both DOST scholars and before the start of our school year, there was a summer practical training program where all scholars would be attending reviews every day for two weeks. I saw him there and I saw him in the bank too! I never thought that was a sign but today, thinking of those moments made me realize, perhaps it was God’s way of saying that here’s your future husband.

James revealed that he had noticed me too in the summer program, he was not very friendly though and we were not part of one class at that time so officially, our first meeting was really in CIT-U, during our first day of school as BSIT students. The photo on the left was during our thesis defense, we were groupmates too!

How does your first date go?


Being part of the same group of classmates back in college, it was evident that every one of us would know each other. James and I were also part of a circle of friends. He was not my type though, he is very silent, oftentimes, he would say some things that I don’t agree with and I just don’t see him as a boyfriend material from freshmen years until the first semester of our senior school year.

All of us knew that he has a girlfriend from high school, they were in a relationship until second-year college. I, on the other hand also has a boyfriend back then until the third year, we had a bad breakup in the first semester.

So, both of us were single as we enter our senior year. Our friends teased us and I don’t know why, everything happened so fast that my feelings for him turned upside down, from being a “not-a-boyfriend-material”, “not-my-type”, “I-am-not-attracted”, he suddenly became the “apple of my eyes”. Eventually, after all the teasing from my friends, all their comments, and pairing, I started to develop feelings for him and he had the same thing.

Being friends since freshmen, we have been together in college events, we go out with friends and our first date was a little awkward, we went to a restaurant in SM City Cebu, as DOST scholars, we have our monthly stipend. We both paid for our food individually, it was not a romantic date though, we just went out, talked, and then went home.

Perhaps the fact of being classmates and friends for four years made a great impact. In our relationship, it was like a building block. But being familiar with each other also has disadvantages, which I won't deal anymore in this article.

What is your most memorable date or travel together?


I tell you, from the time that we started working, we both made it a point that we would go out together to travel and explore the places around us, we head out of town trips together with colleagues and friends.

Our first travel out of Cebu province was to Dumaguete City. But for me, our most memorable travels together were in the year 2019 and I say travels because that year, we had been to three different international countries, it was an unbelievable thing but it happened.

Yes, we had been to many places domestically, we both had prayed that God would allow us to go to another country together and God answered it, not just to one country but to three! Plus, they all happened before the lockdown due to the pandemic, that year 2019 was like a blast for the two of us, ending it of course with the knowledge that we were pregnant!

So, what were the international travels that occurred that year?

March 2019, James’ company made it possible for us to go to Taiwan. It was our first international trip and one which we didn’t pay for anything, it was a loyalty perk from his company. I would always be thankful for Arcanys for being such a great employer!

July 2019, our dream of traveling to our dream country happened. We went to Tokyo and explored the city for three days. It was expensive being in the city of the rising sun but it was worth it, thanks to all the convenience store meals and Airbnb plus proper planning, we survived without breaking the bank.

November 2019, autumn, we spent the tail end of autumn in South Korea. It was unforgettable experiencing the colors of fall in a foreign country, it was cold, like the freezing cold but we survived and we couldn’t be happier seeing the beauty of this season.

During that trip, the only regret I had was that I had no appetite at all, all the food smelled bad and South Korea had a lot of great street foods but I didn’t enjoy them, only to find out by the time we reached Cebu that I was pregnant!

Amazingly, it was a year of travels here and there but God’s timing was perfect, He permitted us to go to different countries in that year and ended it with us being pregnant then by the next year, the pandemic happened. We were given a year to travel to a lot of places, even international countries so we could appreciate the beauty of just being at home together with each other, and then I gave birth in July of 2020, two years after my ectopic pregnancy, amid pandemic. God’s timing is perfect.


This is my entry to the Steemit Philippines major contest. I am inviting my friends @aideleijoie @olivia08 @jurich60



jeanjean.png

J U N E B R I D E
Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art
• • •


steemit.PNG


gif credits: @baa.steemit

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

awwww! kanindot ba ani nga love story uy murag telenobela man.
Kunwari kunwari dili gusto pero sila diay to....ahahaha
Si lord jud no ibang klase jud magpair. Teary eyed man ko while reading, I was just so happy for both of you sis. God really hears and answers all our innermost desires and prayers and in his perfect time all will be manifested.
Ganda ng mga travels ninyo. Dream jud na nako ang makatravel abroad uy, maglibot libot pero for now ipon ipon usa ta kay dili pa man pud pwede because of this "Carbonara"haha term nako sa covid para dili na ko mauumay.
Thank you for inviting me sis try nako makasulat pud try to make time kay super busy jud schedule nako ron. God is good pud dami projects namo bumabawi kay last year pakonti konti lang.
Happy anniversary diay sa inyo and Happy birthday pud kay James sa iyong gwapong silent type betterhalf. hehe

 2 years ago 

thanks ate.. hehe maka teary eye d ay ni heheh yes God answers prayers jud proven and tested!

 2 years ago 

yeap, I agree, super tried and tested na natin yan Mommy Jean.
God is good all the time!

 2 years ago 

Nabasa nako ni before inyu lovestory dai, pero kilig2gon gihapon ko. Murag kiligon man ata ko sa tanan mao guru kahunahuna ko ani nga contest. Hehe

JP and SK pod ako ganahan dai. Pero gusto nako matry ang single pako kaso lisod kaau itravel na ron ui.

Salamat sa pagjoid dai

 2 years ago 

salamat dai hehe
lisod pa lage itravel uy.. magtigum sa pod ta..ehehe

 2 years ago 

Thank you for inviting me deat. I love your story.💓💓💓 Happy Valentines to both of you with Mati

 2 years ago 

thanks ate.. i am excited to read your story hehe

 2 years ago 

Wala man koy labstory

 2 years ago 

I feel very happy to see this post, it looks like I'm enjoying a Valentine's soap

 2 years ago 

oh thank you that's so nice of you!

 2 years ago (edited)

Uwian na! we have a winner! heheh ganda ng love story sis. Yes, I've read your love story post before and thank you for sharing it again. God's timing gyud.

 2 years ago 

hehe salamat sis...

 2 years ago 

Wow grabe ang ganda ng story... destiny jud mo sis.

 2 years ago 

salamat dear.hehe gidestined jd d ay hehe

 2 years ago 

It is really a long journey, but worth it.
God bless your family.

 2 years ago 

thanks dear.. God bless you too!

 2 years ago 

Wow! So sweet couple. God is so good that you have a cute Matti with you now. God's time is a perfect time.

 2 years ago 

thanks ate..yes super perfect timing

 2 years ago 

Hala oi,, mora man ko ug nag tan-aw ug Korean novela ani nga love story.👏👏👏

 2 years ago 

hahaha maikog ko sir

 2 years ago 

Wow cute love story

 2 years ago 

thanks maam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70765.98
ETH 3797.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46