Steemit Philippines - Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 (Week 1) || "The Power of Social Media"steemCreated with Sketch.

png_20230228_153343_0000.png

Greetings to you all, my dear Steemians, and welcome to my post today. Indeed, I am so excited to have you here reading through my post, just as I was overwhelmed with joy when I was writing the post after reading through some entries, which motivated me to also present my mind in this noble community Steemit Philippines.


How old are you when you start engaging in social media, and how was your experience so far?

I started engaging in social media at the age of 14 and my experience was not funny to me or anyone around me because of how the social media called "2go" tried to overshadow my activities. The first time I used social media was when I was chatting on 2go before I created my Facebook account, which I am still using today.

Initially, when I start chatting on 2GO, I don't mind chatting on High Way due to the type of friends I am chatting with then. There was a time that I chatted someone on 2go to the extent that I visited the person with the intention that in real life she is as pretty as her profile picture or as gentle in heart as she usually shows some acts of kindness and sympathy on social media, whereas she is not.

As for Facebook, all my experience so far has been nice, as I chat with mostly the people that I know. Although I was almost scammed on Facebook on different occasions, Up until this moment, I am still chatting on Facebook using the Facebook account that I created in 2011.


In your opinion, what is the right age for people to have access to social media?

The right age for people to have access to social media in my own opinion should be 15 years. Social media is the fastest means of communication by which you can communicate with someone in another country and discuss or share with the person the information you have for him or her.

image.png
Pexels

The reason I think people from the age of 15 upward should have access to social media is for them to advance their communication and writing skills. With the different type of social media that we have today, people no longer send handwritten letters to their loved ones anymore, which means that those as young as 15 can take advantage of social media and enhance their communication skills.


What can you say to people who are no longer responsible for managing their social media accounts?

Honestly, it is very hard for someone who isn't influential to leave his or her social media accounts in the hands of another person to manage them.

Most people who are no longer responsible for managing their social media accounts are influential people because of how busy they are. In regards to this type of people, I would say that they should give out the responsibility of managing their social media accounts to someone that is intelligent and ready to give feedback to people.

And also, such people that are no longer responsible for managing their social media accounts should always enjoy the fact that whatever post or information that's to be posted on their social media by whoever is managing it has been read and approved by the owner of the account.


Share your ideas on how to properly manage a social media account.

All social media have their own terms and conditions, and there is also zero proof of authentication for every user.

Having said that, the best way to properly manage a social media account is to create it and get it fully verified so another person can't clone it. Also, you have to ensure that your password is very strong and you're the only person that have access to the social media is you and the person who is managing the account.

Finally, to this only post an interesting post by using the right words when trying to get a message across to people rather than bringing up an offensive word.


What do you think our future will be with this social media power?

Looking at the way social media platforms, both centralized and decentralized, are getting more users and the reward systems like monetization, I think our future will be based on social media. A lot of people are now earning their daily square meal from social media, whereas billions of people all over the world do login to social media platforms like Facebook, WhatsApp, Tiktok, and several others daily.

Looking at the rapid growth and usage of social media, our future and every means of communication would be done with social media. Passing of information, sharing of ideas, hosting meetings, and several others would be done on social media in our future.


Give the advantages and disadvantages of social media in your life.

Social media has really influenced my life by adding positive values. Sometimes I don't make calls using my airtime balance because I often make calls with my loved ones via social media platforms. However, below are the advantages and disadvantages of social media in my life.

Advantages
  • Social media has made communication so easy for me.
  • Social media has influenced my life with news happening around the world.
  • Social media has made me have friends all over the world.
    With social media like Steemit, I have been able to live a comfortable life.
  • I have been able to promote or advertise my service via social media.
Disadvantages
  • It is full of fake people that are trying to impress the world.
  • Time-consuming or wasting.
  • Fake news is usually spread on social media platforms.

What are the most commonly used social media platforms in your country? and categorize it.

In my country, Nigeria, the commonly used social media are:

Name of social mediaImageCategory
Facebookimage.pngIt's a centralized social network that most Nigerians use for connecting with loved ones as well as promoting their products and services.
WhatsAppimage.pngIt is a centralized social network for chatting with loved ones and as well as posting short updates on status.
Tiktokimage.pngIs a centralized social network where millions of Nigerians spend their time posting and watching short videos.
YouTubeimage.pngis a centralized social media platform for learning and entertainment.
Twitteris a centralized social media platform that is mostly used by Nigerian politicians and celebrities.
Instagramis a social media site for posting and sharing about your lifestyle.
Steemitimage.pngIs a decentralized social platform for posting, reading, commenting, and earning cryptocurrency that many Nigerians are using.
Quorais a question-and-answer social media platform.

There are many social media platforms that are used in Nigeria that I cannot mention here. Indeed, social media have made life so easy for us that we don't need to write letters and send them across the country to our loved ones or call them every day. I am inviting @simonnwigwe, @ruthjoe, @pelon53, and @lhorgic to also take part in the contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Detailed post I must say. You started being a social medialist so to speak at an early early. I can relate. The spirit that came with chatting especially while using a button phone was high.
Just as you've said;

Initially, when I start chatting on 2GO, I don't mind chatting on High Way due to the type of friends I am chatting with then.

To be frank, I do this occasionally so as not to miss any gist most especially during the day. From your post, you've share how impactful social media has been to you in the communication sector as you'll not have to burn your airtime in saying a greeting or two. Social media has undoubtedly added significant value to our lives and has made communication more accessible and convenient. Thanks for sharing this post with us. Wishing you best of luck in this contest. I also participated in this engagement challenge.

Thank you so much sir for your kind comments.

Greetings @josepha.

I agree with your thinking that students should have access to social networks to improve their communication and writing skills. Of course, as long as there is an adult to supervise and guide them. Many times you see a lot of spelling mistakes on social networks and it seems that those users don't care if they write badly.

Good publication.

Good luck.

Thank you for stopping by friend.

Thanks for the invite my dear friend.... You have written beautifully about social media, truth be told, it has a lot of advantage althoug it's a double edged sword meaning it has it side effects. However it's a mighty tool in the hands of an intelligent being like you.
I wish you the very best in this contest.

I appreciate your time here sir.

@josepha 🌹🌹🌹
Social media has many advantages in that we can connect with our loved ones who are sitting far away from us through video calls and do not even feel the distance and it seems as if they are right next to us. And we also get various benefits in it, for example, if you post your assignments etc. here, it will be of great benefit to you, you can earn earnings and other benefits of social media. Number of benefits your post is excellent the variety of what you have presented in your method is great indeed you have a great personality and i hope your post will be the number one post.

 2 years ago 

Nice post👍

Social media is a platform that fake people get use of.we have to be with much care that find the pure people among the fake ones. You have included so many good ideas. Good luck friend.

Thank you so much for your support.

 2 years ago 

Greetings to you too, and thank you for sharing your experiences and thoughts on social media. I started engaging in social media at around the same age as you did, and I can relate to some of the challenges you faced. It's good to hear that you have had positive experiences with Facebook and that you have been able to enhance your communication skills through social media. Regarding the right age for people to have access to social media, I agree with your opinion that 15 years is a suitable age. However, it's essential to note that children and teenagers must be guided by responsible adults to avoid the negative consequences that social media can have on their mental health and well-being. In managing social media accounts, I also agree with your suggestions, especially the need to use strong passwords and only share account access with trusted individuals. As for the future of social media, I agree that it will continue to have a significant impact on our lives, with more people using it for communication, news, and earning a living. Thank you for sharing the advantages and disadvantages of social media in your life, which are quite insightful. Lastly, I agree with your list of commonly used social media platforms in Nigeria and their categories.

There are several points where we maintain the same views like the age and purpose. I have lost some of my interest in social media at this point in time because I am no more serving or doing any sites which work PPC or PPV. I wish you all the best for this contest.

ℂ𝕠𝕟𝕘𝕣𝕒𝕥𝕦𝕝𝕒𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟𝕤
𝓣𝓱𝓲𝓼 𝓹𝓸𝓼𝓽 𝓱𝓪𝓼 𝓫𝓮𝓮𝓷 𝓾𝓹𝓿𝓸𝓽𝓮𝓭
by 𝐒𝐭𝐞𝐞𝐦𝐅𝐢𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧
Curated by @dove11
Screenshot1 (85)12345.png
Join- HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65