Super Typhoon Odette Damaged our Houses || #club5050

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago

The strongest typhoon I ever experienced all my life happened here in our place in Philippines last December 16, 2021 leaving many people homeless.

105430A3-4E3F-4D92-9080-9A53160EA445.jpeg

And these are some of our houses, my house and families house having damage brought by the typhoon which is signal #4 and lasted almost 6 hours. Yet, we were still grateful that time because only the wind strongly blow our home without bringing rain because incase if it also rain, I am sure the place will be flooded.

0489B0A6-3DAD-4281-ABE7-F3175D13E33D.jpeg

Luckily, I havent started to file some blocks on my own house before the typhoon strike our place and it is still a total skeleton, it still had a foundation and beam because in case if we already filed some blocks, I am sure it will be affected also by the strong wind. And we need to start all over again and it is already a double baggage on our part. It is indeed a thank you Lord.

C2209027-1C44-4E2D-8ABD-E66DFFA993A1.jpeg

Unfortunately, my mother’s-in-law’s house where my wife stayed since birth really had a big damage. Since the house was a 3-storey-building, when the wind started to blow, all the wind hit the house. The first part that was destroyed was the roof, at first we were not yet worried because we can still get the roof and fix it. But after an hour, the wall started to get smashed. And that’s the time my father wanted to go upstairs so he can save the house, luckily my mother saw my father and was able to hold him so that he cant go upstairs because if he was able to go their, he will get burried alive due to the heavy loads of the blocks plus the metal. So, what my father did since he wasnt able to go up, he just kneeled down and cry like a child and call God. It was really a drama that time, yes we are really grateful that all of us was save but my father’s reaction saddened me so much and almost 3 days after the typhoon, he don’t want to eat, he dont want to talk nor move, and he dont want to go upstairs he just wanted to cry and sleep hoping that all happened is just a dream… He reacted too much because he exerted so much effort just to build our house. By the way my father is a shrimp vendor and he needs to wake up at dawn so that he can purchase cheaper shrimp at Carbon Market which is 1-2 hours away our house. And he will sell it on their small area their in Carbon Market and go home very late at night. He sometimes went home with no more voice since he always shout their and deal his shrimp and sometimes he went home with a swollen hands caused by the thorns of shrimps. Thats the reason why he was so affected when our house was heat by the typhoon because the money he used it came from his own sweat for almost a decade already but was smashed and destroyed by the typhoon in just an hour.

And right now, my father now started to recover in this traumatic tragedy in our life and started to be back to normal. Well in fact, he now continue selling shrimp even he only now had a few profit since his customers will just buy a kilo or half kilo of shrimp because up to this moment we still dont have electricity and refrigerators were not yet in use. And we are hoping that before new year, we will have some electricity and lights so that we can see clearly and celebrate new year with a happy heart.

FA419439-3AB7-4E6D-808B-D05243B4E9E2.jpeg

Another buliding that was affected by the typhoon was our church. The rooftop was also blown by the strong winds and the concrete walls (front side) was also destroyed. We were all saddened when we visit their after the typhoon because that church was our main church and we are trying to renovate it unfortunately it was hit by the typhoon. But we are still positive that we can rebuild this church soon.

8A1E95A9-7D60-497E-BEF2-1041654205EC.jpeg

Another house that I am going to share to you is my uncle’s house. Typhoon odette leave no roof on their house causing their things especially their clothes wet because a little rain poured during the typhoon. Luckily, they were able to vacuate their place with his kids in a safer place. I am so saddened by my uncle because he was already old and dont have job but the typhoon still smashed their home.

7760D8BE-7681-4693-B4DD-4A6670D2E222.jpeg

If I am still single right now, I am sure I can survive easily but having a family with a 3-year old child feels me so worried. Because our expenses doubled compare to the usual one. Why? Due to the typhoon all the product went high, even a 200ml water bottle double and some tripled its price because drinking water here is so limited since most of the refilling stations was affected by the typhoon. And if we wanted to buy cheaper ones we need to line up at dawn til evening. But for me it is a waste of time because I still had lots of things to prioritize. So, we just bought our kid a small sized water bottle for her own consumption and me and my wife just drink the water from the deep well. Right now we are still trying to cope up especially our small ice cream business was also hit by the typhoon, but I know God will help us fight this fight. We all surrender to Him. Him alone.

Sincerely,

@jmaxswivel

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I know everything happens for a reason dear

 3 years ago 

This post has been chosen to be recommended for booming support today. Continue making quality posts here at Steemit Philippines Community. Remember to always follow the #club5050 rule for more chances of curators' upvote. Link

Show your support by delegating your steempower to our community.

20211105_215049_0000.png

Delegate 50 SP | Delegate 100 SP | Delegate 150 SP | Delegate 200 SP | Delegate 250 SP | Delegate 300 SP | Delegate 350 SP | Delegate 400 SP | Delegate 500 SP | Delegate 750 SP | Delegate 1000 SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56