Steemit Philippines Steem Promotion "Craft Contest" by- @jeycel

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, hope you're fine. Sending you greetings fellow countrymen and fellow steemians.

I will be writing my content for the art contest held by our community. I am not updated about the new blog contest coz I haven't opened my steemit recently until my sister shared about that to me, so then like what she is going to do, I will grab this opportunity as well. I am glad for this contest.

I will be sharing with you fellow steemians my recent kind of art. I have been doing digital arts the past few years, if I am not mistaken I think I have been doing this since year 2020 and I am happy about my experience and for the things that I have learned. I am thankful for what I have learned along those years. The times, the internet, my beloved family and friends and other aspects in life that gave me inspirations and support that made me do it. If you will let me, I will inspire you too.

Don't worry about beginning. We all started with failure and mistakes before we grow up, same as learning anything, including art. Things take time to learn and it is not to be forced and done quickly. Trust the process. That's my motto when doing digital art. Although, not anybody learns art and not anybody should learn to make art. You can be an artist in your own way without the process of learning, you can create an artwork with your imaginary ideas and concepts, even if you do not have to look on to a reference to draw and paint on your canvas. That is what I envy on artists, that I can not do. I always have the reference when I paint, portrait or scenery and any other digitally.

Just try not to give up and do not give up trying. I get tired when I feel like I can not make it, when I see the process complicated, and when I do not have the energy to paint or I just lost the interest of doing it, that's when I was on the stage of art block. I can not force myself when I was on that stage coz I naturally can not go on with process, I swear I will not be satisfied by the result when I force myself. Yes it is tiring however to the same extent it is worth the joy as long as you finish a portrait. Just do not force yourself, rest when you are in art block but do not quit.

I started with plain painting. No highlights and shadows. Until I learned the process of semi realistic painting on YouTube. I changed my art style.

A friend asked me to commission a portrait. This is the digital portrait I made for the commission.

Untitled193_20220224114443.png

Here is my PROCESS of doing it:

  • Hair

Ibis paint x app have the brushes purposely on hair and thankfully it can be easier to paint there. There are three brushes I know that is purposely for hair, the round brush, oil (hair), and the flat brush. And I used the round brush (point) here in their hair.

  • Skin

When painting the skin, the colors should be blended well. At first, I used pen fade for the base color, the colors are picked on the reference picture so that the same color will be the result of the digital portrait. After the base, I used airbrush (normal) for blending the color.

  • Face (eyes, eyebrows, nose, mouth)

In the face details, I used airbrush and pen fade as well like what I do with the skin. I followed the details in the reference picture and followed where to paint the highlight and shadows. In eyebrows, I used round brush for soft strands appearance of the eyebrows.

  • Clothes

When painting the clothes, I used the felt tip pen for coloring, and after that I used the airbrush in some shadow details.

Here are the consecutive work in progress photos (WIP) until the finished portrait:

Untitled193_20220224114027.png

Untitled193_20220224114033.png

Untitled193_20220224114145.png

Untitled193_20220224114151.png

Untitled193_20220224114201.png

Untitled193_20220224114214.png

Untitled193_20220224114221.png

Untitled193_20220224114233.png

Untitled193_20220224114324.png

Untitled193_20220224114330.png

Untitled193_20220224114426.png

Untitled193_20220224114431.png

Untitled193_20220224114443.png

“Every art from the heart is well appreciated.”

20% of the reward goes to @steemitphcurator

I invite @jenzel and @kennacio for this contest.

Best regards from:
@jeycel

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Judge:@juichi

Criteria for judgingRate 0-10
Plagiarismpassed
Relevance to the theme9
Creativity9
Technique9.2
Story quality9.1
Total rating9.075

Thank you for your participation in this contest.

 2 years ago 

Salamat rin po 😊

 2 years ago 

Nice digital art you have there. I am interested in this and maybe one of these days I will find time learning this kind of art. Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

You can do it ate!

 2 years ago 

Salamat po. Kaya niyo po 'yan! Kailangan lang po ng panahon para pag-aralan 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64