An Imperfectly Perfect New Year 2023

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago

Good day everyone. I just saw the contest update, I hope I am still counted. I have to think twice if I am ready to write about my new year celebration, or shall I say a normal day thing. Just read until the end so you can understand how hard to me starting another year.

received_548055253706259.jpeg

New year has always been my favorite day. In my 26 years of existence, it has always been with my whole family. My father is the cook, of course and my father prepares the table for everyone. We always prepared exchange gifts manita/manito for the five of us, with my two siblings. It was the happy 26 years of my life celebrating new year.

FB_IMG_1673418164207.jpg
(photos from 2021 New Year Eve)

But before we ended 2022, my brother was hired as a police trainee and was assigned in Region VI for their training. Since May 2022, he was away from us for that long until now. This was a blessed opportunity.

The hardest good bye, is the sudden death of my father. Supposed we are to celebrate my sister's birthday last Dec 21, where he should be the cook. In less than 24 hours admission in the hospital, my father's body gave up and left us. In this situation, my brother was given passess to go home for the interment of my brother.

received_691449846020644.jpeg

Before the year end, my father left us. Before we started another year, we lost my father. On Dec 21, my brother needs to go back in the training center, so we had a short lunch. It is unusual for me because everytime we eat MCDO, father is always present. But now, it is without father but first time MCDO for my daughter.

received_5823611637726336.jpeg

The next day, everybody in the community is busy preparing for the New Year's Eve. Everyone is ready and excited for opening another year of every life. But in our house, it is a sad preparation. My father supposed the cook, but I do this time. We didn't have so much for the eve, just a little food for the four of us.

received_1075505066647119.jpeg

This is literally a new year for me, mew because I am starting a year without the presence of my father, forever. He is not a perfect father, but he did his best to make his children better and finish our college. He may not the best in the eyes of others, but in my heart, even when I was a kid, I saw him as my husband material (except his vices in alcohol and smoking).

This has been my entry in my new year celebration. I am inviting @georgie84 @kyrie1234 @gemeex to send their entry,too.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi @jes88!

This post is being recommended for Booming Support! Continue to share quality post in our community!

DetailsRemarks
#steemexclusive
atleast #club5050
Plagiarism Free
Bot-Free
At least 300 Words
Burnsteem25X
Verified Member/Visitor

Have a great day ahead!

@me2selah
MOD

 2 years ago 

Just like you sis, our new years are never the same since our dear mother passed away on the New year's day of 2003. So every new year's day since then, we are always reminded of her passng.

 2 years ago 

It's tough to read that you experienced such a loss, especially on a day that was supposed to be joyous. Your story touched on the difficulty of moving on after a loss, but also the importance of family, even when they're not physically present. My condolences on your loss, and my wishes that you find peace and healing in the new year.

 2 years ago 

I guess everyone really loves to celebrate new year sis and is so excited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55