Grow Your Influence, POWER UP!

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago (edited)

I have been in Steemit since July 2017. A blogging platform that rewards its content creators as it is technically known, I became active in sharing content in exchange for the SBD rewards that I often convert into real cash. That's how I used to take the opportunity with the Steemit platform before. Well, it was just all I knew then. For the span of a year of actively engaging in Steemit with publishing blogs, commenting and upvoting posts, I had not been educated and had not taken time learning myself the other stuff that one could profitably do in the platform, which considers boosting one's account through power-ups to grow one's influence in the community somehow.

I published as many quality contents as I could every week. Some of them brought me recognition and compensating rewards. So, I kept the practice until I got a lot on my plate, that I found it good already if I could spend like an-hour-visit to my account every week. Also, it followed that I rarely get the support I looked forward to for the contents I had created and shared. I got discouraged, I felt like it was not worth spending a minute anymore, so, I had gotten myself a break, a lengthy break from blogging that it took me years before I get back in again.

Well, all's well still. That year-long hiatus had managed to serve its purpose. It somehow clarified things and fed me with helpful thoughts enough to ponder upon that I outlined below:

1. If we continue to just be plain content sharers, and wait for the luck of your contents to be curated, then more likely when they missed the curation, discouragement and loss of interest get in the way, which I believe have the power enough to make us quit, just like what I experienced way back then. Nobody likes to spend so much effort on things like creating quality content that will just be ignored, that even you yourself don't have the power to make it earning.

2. If we care to know and educate ourselves on how the Steemit blockchain works, then we would be directed to other important tasks one should take part in, other than just restlessly waiting for the curators to notice your posts. There's really a lot one can profitably enjoy with Steemit.

3. Nothing guarantees the curators' vote for your posts, not even being on the top picks. But there's a little we can do, to somehow give a little value rather than $0.00 to the posts we've poured so much effort into construction. And that's simply through boosting our accounts through power-ups, just like what the many whales did and are still doin'.

With such above, I would say that our future in Steemit lies not on the curators' or the whales' hands, but on our own.

So, as part of our growing team's goals, we are including the importance of power-up in our Steem campaign, that is why I am slowly airing out the cons of acting less on boosting one's own account. There is actually a lot we can do with powering up for the betterment of us and this Steem blockchain. So, let's all power up and grow our influence in the community. More about my stand on power up on my next blogs.

To conclude, take this,

Our decision of today creates our tomorrow.

'til then,
@jenesa

Sort:  

Totally agree with this.

It would have been great though if you had powered up with your 35 SBD rather than send it to the exchange...

 3 years ago 

Hi sir @steemcurator01! While that is the very great thing to do with the 35sbd sir, I do still have projects like charity ones which I needed the funds. I had just done giving out free lunch to my first batch of students during their work immersion program for a job well done. I also had sponsored students with their work immersion uniform since there are really some who find it very hard to buy for one. Also, as one of the feeding coordinators in our school, I agree to donate a few sacks of rice to be given out to our identified severely wasted students. All of these are made easy and possible with the sbd rewards I got from the support of the community, especially your support. With that, thank you so much!

That is a good use of the funds. Hope this vote helps to do more...

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much @steemcurator01. Rest assured, your support would not go wasted, instead it would help and reach more. Thank you!

hello sir, may i for a small reputation account like me to make a simple contest specifically for newcomers, so that they are more excited to create interesting and unique content. I have some SBD to spare prizes.

 3 years ago 

perfectly said mam... Keep power up

 3 years ago 

Thank you @kyrie1234

This is an eye opener Ma'am @jenesa. These thoughts struck me hard.

 3 years ago 

Let's all learn together sir @gilbertthegreat. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

Proud of you @jenesa baby. Continue to be a blessing to everyone especially to our students who need it most. God bless!

 3 years ago 

Thank you ma'am @traderpaw. Together we can make a difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66