Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 (Week 1) || "The Power of Social Media"

in Steemit Philippineslast year


people-watching-live-streaming-260nw-1330668950_1.webp
source

Hi Friends ❤️

I hope you're great 😃 it's my delight to participate in the season 8 Steemit Engagement Challenge. This week's topic is so irresistible! Yeah, it interests me because I'm a social media user, and it has impacted me to some level. I normally liken social media to Fire 🔥; it's Good and it's bad, it depends on how you use it.

Social media can impact us either positively or negatively, it can be dangerously addictive if a person lacks self-control, on the other hand, there are amazing benefits of making use of it, it serves as a tool for information, and a medium to connect with family and friends, etc. So how you use and handle your social media handles will determine whether it will impact you positively or negatively.


social-media-763731_1280.jpg
pixabay

I joined Facebook one of the most popular social media in Nigeria when I was 19years, then I wasn't fully engaged until I turned 22 when I was connected with distant family members and friends, I only make friends with those I knew in person and we used to chat with one another, catching up, but then I set a limit for myself in order not to become addicted to it. The experience so far is amazing 🤩 I used to interact with longtime friends and classmates.

For me the right age to have access to social media is 18 years. At this age kids will become young adults and might have learned how to be social networking smart, not falling prey to trolls or cyber bullies.

IMG_20230228_204923_816.jpg

Bad social media users are rampant, they used to bully other users and some spreads fake information and rumors. Yet others do not know how to manage or separate their private life from social media, the fact is I don't like negative vibes and irresponsible people, so I want to advise users to learn how to be social networking smart, to know how to manage their handles because people can learn a great deal of information about us through what we post, our comments, and the videos we enjoyed.

One needs to separate his/her personal life from social media, we need to realize that what we post on social media leaves an imprint, so we shouldn't publish embarrassing, irrelevant, or disrespectful photos, videos, or articles.
Just recently here in Nigeria, one polytechnic graduate posted a TikTok video giving credit for the successful completion of her academy course to God and pussy. Things turn sour for her when she was declared wanted by the School Management her picture and the video was all over the internet, and the girl eventually got depressed. So it's always good to reflect seriously on our content before we post it, the tip is that if we wouldn't want it to appear on the front page of a newspaper then we shouldn't publish it for our friends to see it.

Spread love instead of hate on social media and don't bully others, don't be a troll manage your account and password diligently and update it frequently.

I fear that the current trend now shows that social media tend to become people's second if not their primal reality. Many don't see it as an entertainment tool but as a go-to place to get advice, a place to keep up with loved ones, and a place to shop and learn skills.

Social media has influenced people's behavior and mood, their way of expression and communication as well as sharing information, thoughts 💭 and ideas 💡. I think that more personalized content will become the norm, and social media will eventually be integrated into every aspect of our lives.

I benefitted from social media, I used to access information with the tips of my fingers, and it has helped me to stay in contact with long-distance relations and to be connected to them. I used to promote my business on social media, and I've learned some new skills through social media.

But there are some disadvantages of social media, it can cause sleeplessness, and sometimes some posts used to make me sad, moreover, we're prone to fake information, hate speech, etc on social, that's why we need to analyze and verify the information before sharing it.

Screenshot_20230304-130316.png

The most used social media in Nigeria includes, Whatsapp, Facebook, Facebook Messenger, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat, Telegram, YouTube, LinkedIn, Snapchat, and Pinterest.

Conclusion:

Social media can be a blessing or a curse, it depends on how we used it, that is why we need to be social networking smart, and we have to teach our children too. We should always reflect on our content before we post it and we should all become good social media users! Thank you for reading me, I would like to invite my friends @eliany @josepha, and solexybaba to take part in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Social media is a very important means of communication with our loved ones. You were more advanced at the time you joined Facebook, although getting a smartphone then was difficult. I am happy that social media has really impacted your life. Thank you for inviting me, and best of luck to you!

 last year 

I got a smart phone though but I wasn't indulged, even now I rarely use some of the handles. Thank you so much for your meaningful contribution I appreciate!

Congratulations!
This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @fantvwiki

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Image sourced from pixabay for illustration

 last year 

I appreciate @fantvwiki

Hi, I am in full support with your conclusion "Social media can be a blessing or a curse, it depends on how we use it, that's why we should be smart with social media and we should also teach our children". I enjoyed reading your lines

 last year 

Aww I'm glad you find my write-up interesting 🤔. Thank you for coming around!

 last year 

thank you for sharing,,!
good luck

 last year 

Thanks for the good wishes!

You have written so well about this topic. Social media has really helped us I am glad to know that you use it to connect with long distance family and friends as well promote your business. I wish you goodluck.

@goodybest
In my opinion social media is a great blessing and a wide range world that have a pleasant environment . Bad users are like dust of the environment . It seems that social media has decrease our distances.
Dear my achievement 3 is waiting for your response. Please have a look on that.

Hello @goodybest
This is the fact that if which one we gave, it will be a witness to us. Be it good or we should be happy and we should end the doubts and doubt. We should be careful with social media and we should teach our children too. It was a lot of fun when I read your lines. Good people should have good training. Well done, I pray that you are even more successful
Thanks

 last year 

I appreciate your meaningful contribution and good wishes @ahamad84. Thank you!

Hello
@goodybest
I just landed here and I'm glad to be here. After listening to a lot of beautiful things about Stemit, what's the point of loving everyone, a cheerful person just landed on the stemate, and I'm ready to bring all the fun and excitement while learning, meet new people, and learn more about communities and platforms.Please revise@ahmad84

Hello@ goodybest
I'm on telegram. Get some solution
Please kindly thanks

@goodybest 🌹🌹🌹
Social media is a great platform, here we don't feel our distance, but earlier when someone went out, we used to wait for him to come, but today thanks to modern technology, it's all in the travel. has changed and we can see each other live through video call apart from this there are many other options that we can use and social media has developed so much that everyone is trying hard and Many people are also benefiting through social media, for example, companies with ads are giving their ads and introducing people, and people are also earning a lot of money from social media. Social media which is the best platform in the world and is developing very fast and further it will be facilitated and not more technology is being introduced for our benefit you have chosen an excellent post. Yes indeed you are one of the great women of the world and your post is admirable and so keep climbing the ladder of progress.....)

 last year 

I appreciate your meaningful contribution! Thank you so much @shabbir86

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59