Steemit Philippines Photography Contest Week #5 - Filipino Food Photography: Kare-kare

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago

Kare-kare is a Philippine stew that features a thick savory peanut sauce. It is among my favorite dish. It is a popular in the Philippines served during special occasions. But to my family especially me, it has been part of one of the menus I love to prepare.

IMG20210930172739.jpg

There vegetable components I have are bokchoy(just what I call) or Chinese cabbage if I am right, eggplant, and roasted peanut. But supposedly to there are spring beans, and banana blossoms but I couldn't find it in the market.

The first time I tried this Filipino dish was when I was in Boracay with my husband. We went to a famous Filipino restaurant named Barrio Fiesta owned by the family of very known Filipino actress Heart Evangelista-Escudero.

IMG20210930160708.jpg

My first bite/spoon of their kare-kare was like a love at first sight because it was super duper delicious. It has very sticky peanut sauce, very tender meat, and the vegetables was just perfectly cooked. Just this year before I yave birth, out of craving, we went to SM City mall to check if Barrio Fiesta restaurant is still open but sadly they closed due to the pandemic.

No matter how I tried making it by myself, i could not have half of the taste of what the restaurant had. So to try again and trying to make it more tastier in how many times around, I cooked again this famous dish.

IMG20210930160547~2.jpg

I have the ingredients ready but for vegetables I only had eggplant, bokchoy, and roasted peanut (I consider this as a vegetable, am I right?)

At first I boil the pork meat. I used the belly part but usually in kare-kare oxtail meat is commonly used. I boil it for an hour or more until the meat was tender. If only we have a pressure cooker it is more faster.

IMG20210930160531.jpg

When the meat was tender, I put the kare-kare mixed powder. It contains all the basic ingredients like annatto powder, crushed peanut and some spices followed by a small portion of coconut powder to make it more creamier (actually in original ingredients it doesn't have a coconut milk but I like it.) The. Vegetables were added.

IMG20210930170239.jpg

Tadaaaan! It's done... So far my family eats it and I assume they like it. Hahaha! Or just no other dish for that meal time. Just kidding. They love it!😋

I would like to invite @kyrie1234 @sweetmaui01 @lealtafaith to submit your entry. Have fun!❤️

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Oi looks yummy po itong kare-kare ka-steemian Sis @georgie84 bihira ako makaka kain ng kare-kare LOL😁

 3 years ago 

Madali lang po tong lutuin. Bili ka lang ng kare-kare mix tapos karne at gulay.☺️

 3 years ago 

omg! Murag ubay2 naman nag invite nako ani oi... Dli man ko kabalo moloto😅😂😄

 3 years ago 

Pwede ra sa mga karenderya or restaurant na foods ma'am at least 3 photos 😁

 3 years ago 

cge thanks mam

 3 years ago 

Thank you @georgie84 for the invite, looking forward on it

 3 years ago 

Good luck 🤞❣️

 3 years ago 

oi kalami ani!! isa sa mga paborito ni asawa ko!

 3 years ago 

Lami jud kaayu ni. 👍

 3 years ago 
Judge: @loloy2020
CategoryDetails (✅/❌)
Theme: Filipino Food Photography
Fully Verified
Correct Title and Tags
Used the #steemexclusive tag
At least 300 Words
set @steemitphcurator 20% benefactor
Mentioned 3 Friends
Write-ups RatingGood
Criteria for JudgingRatings/Score)
1. Relevance to the theme9.8
2. Creativity9.6
3. Technique9.5
4. Overall impact9.8
5. Quality of story9.5
Total Ratings/Score9.64

Pagka lami ba kaayo aning Kare-kare oi...Salamat sa pag share...

 3 years ago 

You're welcome po😊

 3 years ago 

Ka lami sa kare-kare

 3 years ago 

Yes ☺️

 3 years ago 

Thank you @georgie84 for the invite, looking forward on it

 3 years ago 

I love it aunte hehe super yummy

 3 years ago 

Yez!😁

 3 years ago 

Salamat sa pag share how e cook e try ko unya ni

 3 years ago 

You're welcome ma'am.

 3 years ago 
Criteria for judgingRate 0-10
1. Relevance to the theme.9.6
2. Creativity.9.6
3. Technique.9.7
4. Overall impact.9.7
5. Story quality.9.6
6. Total.9.64

Hala ka wow! panghatag maam…

 3 years ago 

Thank you sa points sir. Pohon, maka luto ta balik😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42