Celebrated Grandparents' Day At Our Church

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago (edited)

20210912_110853.jpg

It's our Filipino culture not to give up effortlessly on the challenges of life. Yea in times of tragedy, instead of crying, we just throw a joke instead. In other words, crying is our last resort, that is when we really could not make it anymore. This habit we inherit from our ancestors. Those elders, when they see that you're easily discouraged, they promptly say, " in our time back then, we went through indeed more difficult stuff, now with a slight test, you cry right away ". Then followed by endless preaching that has been countlessly repeated over and over again.

This is the reason why I turned emotional when we celebrated "Grandparents' Day" in our church. I was really glad our society sees the value of our elders. Their role is really important to every Filipino family and society as a whole. Grandparents aren't just there to stay at home and take care of their grandchildren.
They're the ones we need, the whole society needs them. They give us life lessons and ways to face them. Their sermons and stories were shaped by time, so they're full of wisdom. Those that must be heard and passed on to the succeeding generation so as not to be drowned in the decaying morality of our youth.

Our young people these days can no longer stand if reprimanded by their parents. With just a little pressure some even end up hanging themselves. Worst posted it on social media as if it's their modern way of saying goodbye. A life is wasted as simple as that.

In our church, there are only a few members when at first sight you can say, " this is already a grandparent." But a lot of our youth got married earlier so quite a few also celebrated as grandparents that unseasonably.

20210912_111223.jpg

selected APOS' testimonies

I was teary-eyed listening to some selected " Apos' " testimonies about their grandparents. From what I've observed, oftentimes grandparents are the ones left at home and if they can still take care of the grandchildren, that family is so lucky because not only they do save up for the sitter's wage, but it gives them peace of mind when at work. You know grandparents, they are very caring and loving to their grandchildren. In short, often they're indeed more attentive than you as the real parents.

My close friends, know the number one desire of my heart every time I pray. That I hope to die at an old age and not of severe illness, accident, or any other means. That I wish I could enjoy the life God has lent me through my grandchildren. I wish I could play with them and tell them my stories. It's funny to hear but it's true. I say this in my prayer every day. This matter when shared with my friends induce a lot of laughter among us. It's full of fun and excitement when we dig into a topic like this.

20210828_101311.jpg

a dance number for them

So that is it. I found pleasure while looking at them being honored at our church.

There, you heard my mine. Do we share the same dream too? If not, I am excited to hear yours.

Thanks for visiting my post. Till then keep safe.

Cheers
@fabio2614

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

God bless you my friend.

 3 years ago 

salamat my friend. Kaibigan pa rin tayo hanggang sa pagputi ng ating mga buhok😊

 3 years ago 

A Blessed Grand Parents Day!!!

Maraming salamat po sa pagbahagi nang iyong post.

Sa karagdagang impormasyon, paki bisita po ang ating Community Account at ibang Social Media Accounts.

God Bless po!!!

 3 years ago 

salamat po sa suporta🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44